Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-14-2005, 12:39 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 602
Quote:
so I guess today I need to buy a shrimp and get my lr that I bought from
Make sure the shrimp is raw (not precooked) and toss it in. It'll smell a bit, but not too bad.

YOu may need more than one. Treat yourself to some frozen ones, use a couple over a period of time in your tank, and eat the rest!!
__________________

__________________
30 gal standard 55 lbs LR, 60 lb live sand, 10 gal sump/refugium. Urchin skimmer, mag7 pump, 3 x 96W PC combination 10,000K/actinic bulb, 2 blue LED moonlights
SG 1.024, temp 79.5, pH 8.4

Livestock I added:

1 skunk cleaner. 12 hermits: red, scarlet, blue. 15 or so assorted snails. Discosomas, Ricordia, Rhodactis mushroom corals, chaetomorpha (sump), 1 feather duster, Montipora digitata, Montipora capricornis, Montipora hispids. assorted zoos, Xenia, Kenya tree coral, green Sinularia, green star polyps, branching hammer coral, bubble coral, Devil's hand leather. Yellow chromis, purple firefish.

Hitchhikers: the usual suspects :crabs, bristles, urchin, mantis shrimp (now in exile in mantis tank)

List of possible/likely newcomers:

Feather duster. PJ cardinal, Bangghai cardinal, Firefish goby, Clownfish, Neon goby, Yellow watchman goby, Orchid dottyback. Various corals.
midiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 12:40 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 374
Ok.. so u think I'll be ok then?
__________________

__________________
Oceanicsublimat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 12:48 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by seaham358
Do you have a refractometer or hydrometeor? What is you salinity/SG?
you just dont add salt to water without checking the SG of the water. And all water should be mixed out of the tank from now on. What size tank? like the others have said don't add any of that stuff to the water. Salt has a buffer in it and should get you up to or near a pH of 8.2. Don't worry about the ph being perfect in a new tank with no fish. Read up on keeping a SW tank and keep asking questions.
I have a hydrometer, my salinity is holding at just under 1.022. I mixed everything in a bucket first.. put my sand in the tank and used a bowl to minimize sand movement..my tank is 55gal I have a sump for a 75 gal.
__________________
Oceanicsublimat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 12:55 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 374
just got off the phone with another lfs.. and he told me to do a partial water change (about 10 gal) to get some of that stress coat out...I think I'll take about half of the tank out... and just put water conditioner in..no stress coat..
__________________
Oceanicsublimat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 03:56 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 62
first off...dont use any chemicals in your water..
2nd..i like gravity at 1.024 (and i keep it there..all the time)
3rd...dont trust LFS..(u will get stung)
4th...dont use tap water
5th...decide how you want to cycle your tank (shrimp is fine...or....
use live rock and sand to do it(and chuck in flake once a week)..approx 1.5 pound rock per gallon ) u dont need both..
personally i threw away my hydrometer the first time i used it !
get a refractometer off ebay or something) (u will not regret it)
mix up your water and salt in buckets and get the gravity right BEFORE u put it in tank
confused yet ? i trying to make it easy for u ere and SAFE for the fish

now buckets is a different issue all together..cause you cannot use any old bucket!
use a food safe bucket.. example..use a bucket you would eat your dinner out of !
as for PH...dont even worry about that yet ) it should be there naturally..or a buffer can be added when it is fish ready !
what i am trying to get at mainly is try to keep away from puttin any chemicals in a marine setup!
if you do it right..you will have a trouble free..healthy marine environment..
2 words...RESEARCH and PATIENCE
could be 2 months before you put any fish in..so you plenty of time )
good luck and enjoy the hobby)
__________________
cardinal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 04:06 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 374
yeah.. I figured it would be awhile before I add fish.. if I do it this way with tapwater and conditioner, will all the chemicals be leached out eventually? I'm gonna let my tank sit with lr and sand without anything for awhile.. while I learn..I just want to get it setup first
__________________
Oceanicsublimat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2005, 08:16 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 62
thats a good start )
problem with tapwater is the phosphates r really high...causes bad algae problems in the long run....
while your tank is cycling ..look into gettin a RO unit...there is soo many to choose from )
__________________
cardinal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 11:13 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 374
any way to remove the phosphate? I plan on getting a cleanup crew as soon as my cycle is complete... and any water changes I do from here on out I will buy some RO water from walmart... and just look into prices with ro units..
__________________
Oceanicsublimat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 01:47 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 62
i use a phosphate remover media in my fluval if phosphates creep up....
also water changes
good luck
__________________
cardinal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 03:01 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 374
I have some carbon in my sump.. could I put phosphate remover media in sump also? I have a wet/dry sump protein skimmer combo.,
__________________

__________________
Oceanicsublimat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
starting, starting off

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting over again... Saltar Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 01-07-2008 04:19 PM
starting over jonnyb1425 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 05-23-2006 09:16 AM
New here, starting again Tex Member Introductions 9 01-11-2006 10:05 AM
Just Starting... Ryehard Member Introductions 7 12-28-2005 11:22 AM
Starting out Nuke_Spook Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 03-25-2004 07:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.