Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-24-2004, 07:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tustin,Ca
Posts: 754
starting propigation tank

It looks like it will be quite a few months til I can get my 100 gal reef going in full swing. My wife says buying a new house comes first, who is she kidding Well I think I will just get the cycle going with 75 lbs LR and LS. I have skimmer, PH's, and 96W 10K CF and 96W CF 03. I just want something in the tank. I have about 6 nice shroom rocks, polyps and zoos in a 12gal nano that I will transplant when cycled.

Can I propagate my mushrooms and riccordias in the same tank with these other inhabitants? This is all I am going to put in there until we move (yes I gave in) and I can get the fuge and MH lights set up. I figure I could cycle everything for 6 mos at least and try my hand at some more propagating techniques. I am just worried about the release of some toxins during propagation. It shouldn't be much, and with the water volume and skimmer I think I should be fine?

Sorry Squishy
__________________

__________________
Let's get a line wet!
got bait? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 02:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 412
you should be fine. we are propagating pretty much all you have stated, shrooms, ricordia, star and other polyps, lethers, and xenia in a 30 gal tank and have been pretty succesful. i dont see a problem at all in a 100.
__________________

__________________
BBReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 04:10 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tustin,Ca
Posts: 754
My only concern is for the already existing colonies in the same tank. Do I need to propagate in a separate tank. How much secretions should I expect?
__________________
Let's get a line wet!
got bait? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 04:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,134
Re: starting propigation tank

Quote:
Originally Posted by got bait?

Sorry Squishy
LOL...sorry for what?


And yes..you can propigate frags in the main tank. Just dont cut them in the main tank if you can avoid it. Its better to do that in a bowl of water or something so that you can toss it after you have fragged it. If you can...just run carbon for a day or so.

Squishy
__________________
http://www.reef-aquarium.net

175gallon reef

5,100 gal pond

Fish are people too!
SquishyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
starting, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting a Paludarium (river tank) - which tank to use/get? underwater Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 06-11-2009 03:37 AM
starting a second tank. Speed up cycle w/ first tank water? turbovr6 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 11-28-2007 12:11 PM
starting a FO tank AnnnetteM Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-24-2005 03:22 PM
Starting a tank.... ConanTheLibraia Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 12-16-2004 06:13 PM
starting a new tank e-cat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 10-05-2003 12:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.