Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-28-2005, 08:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Starting Up

Hello all.

I am new to the saltwater tank game, but am reading up and wish to begin a 55 gallon fish only tank with live rock. Eventually I would like to upgrade to reef, but will begin with fish until I get more experience. Being a novice, I have some basic, but specific questions. First, is anyone aware of some good online aquarium stores or sites where I could find the tank and necessary equiptment at reasonable prices? Second is a filter question. What is the difference between cannister vs. wet/dry and what other equiptment is needed for each (e.g. powerhead)? Which would be better for a 55 gallon eventual reef? Lastly, I live in a small town, fairly isolated, and was wondering if anyone has ordered fish etc. online and how it has gone for them? Thank you all very much for your help.
:P

Old 02-28-2005, 08:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
First, is anyone aware of some good online aquarium stores or sites where I could find the tank and necessary equiptment at reasonable prices?
www.captivereefs.com
www.drsfostersmith.com
www.liveaquaria.com
www.liverocks.com
www.marinedepot.com
Quote:
Second is a filter question. What is the difference between cannister vs. wet/dry and what other equiptment is needed for each (e.g. powerhead)? Which would be better for a 55 gallon eventual reef?