Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 02-22-2010, 08:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Steer me in the right direction! - starting a new SW tank

Ok, so I have a friend who is giving me a fifty gallon tank. I need to know what I will need to start a salt water aqaurium. Im looking to have some cool fish and coral, along with a couple sea horses. Im completely new to salt water aqauriums so any help will do me good. I read on google that there are many different types of salt water aqauriums and im unsure what kind will work for me. I will be asking more questions because like I said im completely new to this. Thanks!!!

thatsaltwaterguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 08:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years

POTM Champion
Welcome to AA Here is a good thread/article that should go over most everything you'll need Btw, pay no attention to the links in my signature, theyre mainly geared towards freshwater cycling

Equipment for a new SW tank

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 11:50 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus

Moved to SW forum for better exposure.
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 01:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict