Stocking Advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chance

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey. I'm pretty new to the whole saltwater "experience" as my LFS puts it. Unfortunately I didn't know about this site and cycled my tank using chromis along with 40 lbs live sand and 30 lbs live rock. Fortunately two of the three survived. I now have added two turbo snails, 10 small hermits, an electric blue hermit, a cleaner shrimp, a pj cardinal and a coral beauty. Now for the cool part. Yesterday I bought a tank raised Clownfish And went back today and got an anemone that had been in the same tank. When I came downstairs I saw him in it. My question is where should I go from here keeping in mind I want a community tank? Thanks for the advice

image-1123172121.jpg

If you just cycled, the nem shouldnt have been added. Shouldnt add one for 6 months to a year to let the tank stabilize. They are prerty sensitive. I made the same mistake.

Dont recall the size of your tank to recommend fish... but i enjoy the royal gamma in my 36 gal.

Oh really? Do you think The nem will be able to make it? I've got a 45 gallon

Hi I also made the mistake of putting in a nem to early (3 months) & mine only lasted a month. You'll know when it's dying because it'll start to fall apart. So if that starts to happen get it out ASAP.

What can I do to help it out? I'd hate to lose it.

Nem's need very good light, and stable parameters - best thing you can do is to keep the water quality as close to perfect as possible - very hard as your new tank is settling itself. Also make sure you have phenomenal lighting. I've heard rare cases that people had nems under lower light, but not recommended.

The nem ate some krill today. I'm hoping it makes it.

It seems to be doing ok but is not sticking. I'm afraid the foot may be damaged. Can the foot heal?