Stocking Aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nolan99

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am a newbie to the saltwater hobby and I am starting to plan my aquarium. I have a list of fish I would like that I think are compatible and I am hoping you guys can tell me what size tank I would need and if these fish are compatible. Also, is there any limits on invertebrates in a certain sized tank? I would also like to add some snails, a marble starfish, a cleaner shrimp or two, and a scarlet reef hermit crab.
-Flame Angelfish
-Tailspot Blenny
-Banggai Cardinal (2 or 3)
-Ocellaris Clownfish (2)
-Blue Green Chromis (2 or 3)
-Green Mandarinfish (This would be added after a year or two when I have experience and have a LOT of copepods!)
-Orange Spot Diamond Goby
-Yellow Watchman Goby (Hopefully with a Tiger Pistol Shrimp)
-Flame Hawkfish
-McCosker's Flasher Wrasse
Thanks for your help!

Nolan99

It's good that you are asking questions before you set up your tank. But I saw no mention whether you want corals, anemones, etc. included in your tank.

If you go the fish only route, you will need plenty of LiveRock though as some of your specie choices include fish that hide a lot, I.e. The Blenny, and gobies.

As for the companion shrimps that go with the gobies you will also need a fairly loose aggregate sand bed. Be sure to lay down the live rock first before adding a loose aggregate Sandbed so as not cause underwater landslides when the critters start digging.

Be aware also that Hawkfish will sometimes hunt smaller shrimps.

Cardinals will school nicely so try and have at least three. I have a large Bangai that schools with two other Pajamas quit nicely.

A red flag for me would be mixing the clownfish with the chromic. They are both members of the damsel fish family and can very territorial, especially the blue/green chromis.