Stocking My Aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ReNNie

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 55 Gallon tank with Live Rock. I also have 2 Percula Clowns,a Peppermint shrimp and 50 Nassarius snails. In the future I was thinking of getting a Yellow tang and a copperbanded butterflyfish. I am going to wait until I can keep my tank really stable for 3 or 4 months first though. My questions is will the bio-load or carry capacity be to much for my current size tank?? Any Post would be a help as I am fairly new to the hobby (2 years). I would also like to say hello to everyone in the forum and thank you in advance for you posts. Thanks alot Matt

Welcome to AA :D

I’d go with the Copperbanded Butterflyfish or the Yellow Tang but not both in a 55 gal tank. After either one you will be maxed out as far as fish go. Personally I think you would do better with the tang as they are hardy & enjoyable fish.

What are you using for biological filtration now? How much lr do you currently have?

I have 30 LBS of live rock (getting more, little at a time) and a fluval 304 with biomass and carbon once and a while. I also have a about 60 lbs of crushed coral. Really that sucks, only 3 fish haha awwww thanks alot by the way

ohh and thanks for the welcome. I also have another question. I do about 5 % water changes every week (is this good??) and all my levels are good. But for some reason it is hard to get a good reading for my ph with my current test kit ( hagen ) I find them really hard to get a good reading by comparing the paper to the test tube. Is there another test brand that I could try that you know of?? Thanks for all your help