straight from ocean

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

guitarded

Aquarium Advice Freak
i am new to SW. i have kept FW for quite awhile.

anyway, i just bought a 75 gal to setup as my SW tank. i live in hawaii so i am considering getting sand and rocks straight from the ocean. has anyone on this forum done this or know of anyone who has. further, isthere anything i should know before doing this? if i do this, will this seed my tank to help cycling.

i plan on getting the sand and rocks about 100 yards out to reduce the likelihood of contaminants from beach goers and also plan to go to a beach that is not a popular recreational beach.

also, should i get my water from the ocean for my tank? if i fill my tank with water, sand and rocks from the ocean, will i be able to skip cycling?

also when you get the rock for the ocean you should lay it out then rinse it to rid it of and dangerous parisites.

I am not sure what the collcetion laws are in your state so you should check that out first. I would be leary of collecting rocks from the ocean. Buying acu-cultured LR is more envirnmentally friendly and you get very nice "reef" style rock. I do not think you would want to collect your won from a natual reef. i am pretty sure that is a no-no. As for the LS, you do not know whats in it, you could end up intoducing pollution or parasites to your tank. Ording LR/LS from an on-line vendor or getting it at your LFS will greatly reduce the cycle time of your tank. As far as what philly said about the benifit of having a mixture of LR from different places...I have never read or heard of any support in this. Good luck! Lando