Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-02-2009, 11:45 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
BEANS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Substrate

Ok Ive been asking alot of questions about skimmers, lighting, filter. Now for my substrate. At the moment I have about a 1/2 inch or less of "live sand" (that looks more like crushed coral, it is not a fine sand) that I bought in a dry bag off the shelf of a LFS. So I know that it isn't really live but I figured it would be better than using pool sand or w/e to get my tank started.

My question is can I get some pool filter sand from my LFS and put it over this "live" sand that looks more like CC and just mix it together? I Plan on having a yellow headed jawfish in my tank and I know they like to dig burrows so I want to kind of get the appropriate substrate he will enjoy the most.

thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
Pics of my tanks and fish in profile

Reef pics soon to come
BEANS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 11:55 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
You can, but keep in mind the larger particles will shift to the top.....
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
BEANS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
K thanks, I was kind of hoping it would just all blend together in a healthy mixture and not turn into two layers. guess there is only one way to find out.
__________________
Pics of my tanks and fish in profile

Reef pics soon to come
BEANS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 01:51 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
As Scott said the smaller particles will go to the bottom and the larger will be at the top. You can do it to see if it happens but some of us have already found out.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 01:54 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I agree that 200 watt will not be too much for that tank. That`s actually moderate lighting.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 03:57 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
LOL!, Well there are two ways to find out....I found out by havinf CC and sand in my tank, the 2nd way could save you time....
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 04:24 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEANS View Post
K thanks, I was kind of hoping it would just all blend together in a healthy mixture and not turn into two layers. guess there is only one way to find out.
Let's just say that if you find a way to blend the two together and keep them blended, you've also found a way to defy the laws of physics!
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 04:47 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
BEANS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
I believe you guys, it's not that I plan on defying physics . The live sand that I was refering to is larger bits of sand, not real fine. So what I was meaning is it might not be large enough to all work its way to the top. Yes I know that if I take large rock or crushed coral and mix it with real fine sand it would do that but I was hoping since this is just a larger grain of sand and im mixing it with fine sand it will blend a little better. /shrug

__________________
Pics of my tanks and fish in profile

Reef pics soon to come
BEANS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 06:02 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
buddha_red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pasadena Texas 77504
Posts: 560
Send a message via ICQ to buddha_red
if it were me, and its not.
I would take a picture of the substrate so everyone can get what your talking about. hth
__________________
Shane
"Only mistakes happen fast in aquariums"
"The solution to pollution is dulution"
buddha_red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 07:12 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58 View Post
I agree that 200 watt will not be too much for that tank. That`s actually moderate lighting.
Where did this come from?
__________________

__________________
handb94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the best substrate to use? froggy8963 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 06-23-2009 11:19 PM
Substrate want2findnemo Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 06-06-2008 07:21 PM
2questions1post, Refugium lighting substrate/Tank Substrate divemasterjim Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-23-2006 07:46 PM
Substrate and substrate cleaning questions Kilgore Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-17-2006 05:29 PM
Which substrate? prisoner1572 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 04-05-2004 04:19 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.