Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-22-2016, 02:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Chromediggity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Smyrna, GA (Atlanta)
Posts: 54
Substrate

Afternoon all. I'm upgrading from a 36 gallon FOWLR to a 93 gallon Perfecto Tank - Rimless. I want to address each step throughly and do it right so I was wondering what is the best way to build a substrate for an eventual reef tank. I will probably only have live rock and fish for the first 6 to 12 months. Any tips?
__________________

__________________
Chromediggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 02:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,117
Use an aragonite based sand about 1-2" depth. If you're gonna want jawfish or digging gobies then go for 3" or so. I would go for a medium thickness sand particle size.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 05:34 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree with Bribo
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 11:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Chromediggity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Smyrna, GA (Atlanta)
Posts: 54
Perfect, I was thinking about a jawfish.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Chromediggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
substrate or no substrate fishydave Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 06-27-2013 06:19 PM
Fertiliser Substrate under gravel substrate mwe_ch Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 08-07-2010 06:44 PM
Cleaning Substrate When Substrate is Fully Covered in Plants beauxarts Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 07-08-2010 11:26 PM
2questions1post, Refugium lighting substrate/Tank Substrate divemasterjim Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-23-2006 07:46 PM
Substrate and substrate cleaning questions Kilgore Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-17-2006 05:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.