Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-25-2007, 09:21 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 108
Send a message via MSN to boges_au2006
Substrate???

Hi i know its probably been asked before but i couldnt find it.
Just wondering currently i have in my tank a little bit of like a crushed oral/shell stuff as substrate. not too much though in my tank.
Just wanted to know what is the preferable substrate for a marine tank and can i now change the substrate i have in there or would it be too late?
Cheers
__________________

__________________
boges_au2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 09:53 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Please take a moment and update your "Myinfo". What all do you have in the tank now? How long has it been set up? I would suggest sand as a substrate as crushed coral tends to collect food and detritus and that creates bad water which creates algae and other problems. Yes you can change out the substrate in your tank it just takes a bit of work. That being said, the ease of doing that depends on what you have in there right now...
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 09:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wilmington, North Carolina
Posts: 558
I think its kinda different strokes for different folks but I have always preferred a more fine substrate to the more rocks ones that way my sandsifters can get the job done...hth
__________________
Any home mortgage questions feel free to ask. Thats what I do when I'm not tending to my tank!!
beachbumin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 11:46 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 108
Send a message via MSN to boges_au2006
srry ill update my info after i finish typing this
currently in my tank have live rock no coral a few fish (lightning wrasse, cleaner wrasse two clowns and a foxface) and i have i think its a shell gritt (was bought second hand)
has been set up for about 18months i think.
if i put sand in there i would have to take all the shell gritt out first wont i. then set it all back up?? cheers
__________________
boges_au2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 07:23 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 108
Send a message via MSN to boges_au2006
anyone?
__________________
boges_au2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 08:11 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Yes, you will have to remove the old substrate. It might be a good idea to do half the tank and wait a few days before doing the other so the bio-filter is not upset too much. Stirring up and removing too much of the CC could cause an ammonia spike. Monitor your water params during the process and do PWC's if you see any problems. HTH
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 08:17 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree that sand is preferable. Take your CC out in steps of two or three and replace with sand. You`ll be much better off. You can wash the sand really good and use a pvc pipe to slide the wet sand to the bottom and not create such a hugh dust storm.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 10:33 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree, I did 1/3 of my tank a week. Make sure you have some extra premixed water in case of any spikes. I used a tupperware bowl to add my sand. I had fish in the tank already and other than some nipped fins, there were no problems.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the best substrate to use? froggy8963 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 06-23-2009 11:19 PM
Substrate want2findnemo Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 06-06-2008 07:21 PM
2questions1post, Refugium lighting substrate/Tank Substrate divemasterjim Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-23-2006 07:46 PM
Substrate and substrate cleaning questions Kilgore Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-17-2006 05:29 PM
Which substrate? prisoner1572 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 04-05-2004 04:19 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.