Suggestions for hex setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

saltyfever

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have been lucky enough to get a 90 gallon hex tank with stand, protein skimmer, and lights. I have picked this corner to put it in, but have never had a saltwater tank. I have always done freshwater and still have a 39 gallon rectangular fresh tank to teach my kids how to take care of an aquarium. It has goldfish right now, but in the past I have had other freshwater fish. Saltwater has always been something that I wanted and I am excited to be getting it, but I don't know what to do with it. I don't want anything venomous and being a beginner, I don't want to get something that is hard to take care of and inadvertently kill it. I would appreciate any suggestions on whether I should go with a reef system or fish only and what types of fish. I know that you should only have 2" of fish for every 10 gallons, but other than that I am pretty saltwater silly. Thanks for reading! :D

I think you need to ask yourself a few questions. First being, do you want/have a good bit of money to spend. Although some things were given to you, there is still alot left to consider. You mention lights, but are they stock lights? or are they reef intensity lights? A 90 hex is rather deep and to go reef, you would probably want metal halides or t-5 bare minimum. This is very costly. Substrate, liverock, salt mix (keep in mind water changes with the added cost of salt mix) all come into play.

Do alot of reading, there are some nice articles that will cover a lot of your questions and write down questions as they come to you and we will be glad to help.

Welcome to AA!