Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-11-2009, 10:14 PM   #11
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I dont know. I`ve personally known people that have had the fuge in the first section. I`ve know folks that have their fuge in the second section so it really just depends on personal preference. I want the fuge first so my grape calerpa can have a crack at it. Kind of like what you suggested. I`m not saying it must be first but dont say it cant be first. Good question Party.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 10:15 PM   #12
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Ideally shouldn't the fuge be the lowest and least turbulent flow area of the sump so that any macros have the chance for nitrate uptake? This is from Melev's site and is as basic as I can imagine it being sketched.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Melev.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	55.1 KB
ID:	19565  
__________________

__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 10:24 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
BigMike75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Knox, KY
Posts: 89
Please don't get me wrong, I didn't say that the fuge couldn't be first. If it is last with the return in the middle or separate you can control the flow through it with a valve giving your macro algaes more time to work. IMO
__________________
BigMike75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 11:00 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
My macro algae is in my first compartmen, my skimmer is #2, I have LR in all but the skimmer compartment and the return pump compartment. PO4=0, No2 & 3 = 0...
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost my tank, but back at it now! sump or no sump lower11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-10-2007 03:35 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
Whats a sump, A simple sump Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2004 06:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.