Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-02-2010, 06:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Sump?

I have a roughly 35G tank that is cycled with a couple fish in it, I fit a 10G tank in the stand (it was so close, but I had to take off the cheap plastic trim to make my clearance.) I know 10G isn't a lot, but I figure it is better than not having one? I've never done a sump before, and I tried to use the search to find some good links on how-to best set it up, and to make sure I don't drain the tank during a power outage, that sort of thing. Any tips would be great, and advise it its even worth doing a 10G sump. Let me know, thanks!

Old 04-02-2010, 08:03 PM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club

Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I used a 10g for a sump for many, many years. It's nice to stick your heater, skimmer and/or filter media down there out of sight. You need a HOB overflow. I see your from PA. Check out an Eshopps overflow from That Fish Place. That will get the water from the tank to the sump. Then you need a pump to get it back into the tank. A Mag 350 would work fine.

Instead of trying to explain how you can setup the sump. I'll post a pic of mine. Even tho it's a 55g tank, it's the same basic setup you can use on a 10g. Water from the tank enters on far right. I keep my skimmer in that compartment. Next are baffles. They will make sure the water level in the right side always stays the same (skimmers need a constant water level) and keeps any microbubbles from making their way to the return pump. I have macro algae and a small section for frags and then the section on the far left for the return pump.

Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 08:11 PM   #3
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict