Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-17-2012, 09:52 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
jbree13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 129
Sump

I am new to saltwater but me and my dad plan on making our sump on our own!

Would it be worth/can you put a top on your sump? Ill be able to custom build it, so that's not the issue! I just didn't know if you could
I thought it would be an idea so there wouldn't be alot of evaporation in the cabinet so salt doesn't get everywhere!

So would I be able to put a top on it?
THANKS
__________________

__________________
jbree13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 12:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dlsrks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Anniston, Alabama
Posts: 331
I don't have a top on mine because of the protein skimmer. I will try to send a picture when I get home so you can see how it is set up unless you have an email address I can send it to.
__________________

__________________
DLSRKS
dlsrks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 12:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dlsrks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Anniston, Alabama
Posts: 331
You may want to check out Limpit's Reef on Utube. He shows you exactly how to build one and why each part is important. You can learn alot watching his videos.
__________________
DLSRKS
dlsrks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 01:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
jbree13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 129
Thank you so much!

Could you cut a hole big enough say in acrylic to be able to slide it over the protein skimmer? I know there would still be a gap but could it work?
__________________
jbree13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 03:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dlsrks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Anniston, Alabama
Posts: 331
If you really want to cover it, I would put the skimmer all the at the end, leave that part exposed and cover the rest of the sump. Make sure it's a removable top and provide holes for the tubes and holes. But you can do it for the entire sump if you want. But like I said make sure it's removable for maintenance. I will be home in a couple hours and I'll update my profile pictures. I will send you a message when they are on there.
__________________
DLSRKS
dlsrks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dlsrks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Anniston, Alabama
Posts: 331
I finally got my profile updated with all my tanks and equipment. Let me know if you have any questions about the sump.
__________________
DLSRKS
dlsrks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 09:47 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
jbree13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 129
Thanks for the help it's really Helpful!

What kinda of light do you need for the micro algae?
__________________
jbree13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 12:50 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dlsrks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Anniston, Alabama
Posts: 331
You can use anything that will give it light it needs. I use a lamp I got at walmart that is on on a clip that is bendable. You just have to secure it somehow cause it sure don't stay where you put it. Lol. The macro algae just needs some kind of light to grow. Don't leave it on all night. You would end up with green algae in your sump.
__________________
DLSRKS
dlsrks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 01:14 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Steve silbernagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Myers FL
Posts: 393
I made lid for my sump out of 1/8 acrylic just timmed it around my skimmer. It does cut down on my evap
__________________
Steve silbernagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 05:06 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbree13
I thought it would be an idea so there wouldn't be alot of evaporation in the cabinet so salt doesn't get everywhere!

)
I'm not sure I understand the salt reference. When the water evaporates the salt stays in the tank which is why you do top ups with fresh water. Splashing water tho may get some salt out.
__________________

__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.