Sump

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jbree13

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am new to saltwater but me and my dad plan on making our sump on our own!

Would it be worth/can you put a top on your sump? Ill be able to custom build it, so that's not the issue! I just didn't know if you could
I thought it would be an idea so there wouldn't be alot of evaporation in the cabinet so salt doesn't get everywhere!

So would I be able to put a top on it?

I don't have a top on mine because of the protein skimmer. I will try to send a picture when I get home so you can see how it is set up unless you have an email address I can send it to.

You may want to check out Limpit's Reef on Utube. He shows you exactly how to build one and why each part is important. You can learn alot watching his videos.

Thank you so much!

Could you cut a hole big enough say in acrylic to be able to slide it over the protein skimmer? I know there would still be a gap but could it work?

Last edited by a moderator:
If you really want to cover it, I would put the skimmer all the at the end, leave that part exposed and cover the rest of the sump. Make sure it's a removable top and provide holes for the tubes and holes. But you can do it for the entire sump if you want. But like I said make sure it's removable for maintenance. I will be home in a couple hours and I'll update my profile pictures. I will send you a message when they are on there.

I finally got my profile updated with all my tanks and equipment. Let me know if you have any questions about the sump.

Thanks for the help it's really Helpful!

What kinda of light do you need for the micro algae?