Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-14-2005, 10:17 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 75
sump for 55gal.

What size sump will fit under a 55 gal stand. Or is it even possible ??
Thanks for any help.
__________________

__________________
batfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 10:48 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 300
I am not sure how you expect us to answer this question. You should measure underneath the stand.
__________________

__________________
demodiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 01:20 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
As demodiki it’s best to get your measurements first so you know what can fit. That being said your options are somewhat limited do to the small space and most stands only being 10” wide. But here is a small list of what some people use:

20 gal long tank usually fits depending on the placement of the center bracket.
ProClear Aquatics SlimLine
Marineland Tidepool 1
CPR WET/DRY FILTER
__________________
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 01:25 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 75
The 20 gal long is whats recommended, center brace is my concern. 10 gal. will fit, but the 20's are 13 inches. So the center brace is in the way. Is a 10 gal. to small.
__________________
batfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 01:38 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,341
Is the 55g already set up? If so you will have a challenge getting most tanks in the stand. When I set up my 90g I had to tempararily remove the center cross brace and them replace it.
__________________
Aaron

Tank: 90 Gal SW Reef in the making

See my info for setup and inhabitant details:
afilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 01:49 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 75
Yes it is setup. Would a 10 gal a tank work?
__________________
batfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 01:54 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,341
You would have to see if you can angle it under there depending on the style of stand you have.

I guess the other question is what are you trying to accomplish? A 10g only adds about 10% to your volume and does not provide much room for equipment if you are looking to hide it in the sump as many do. For the trouble and cost of materials (overflow and pump) it may not be worth the trouble.

If you are looking to make it more of a fuge then it might be worth the effort.

HTH,
__________________
Aaron

Tank: 90 Gal SW Reef in the making

See my info for setup and inhabitant details:
afilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 02:23 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
I have a 10g under my 65 (the 15T wouldn't fit). It is a fine place for heaters, macro, return pump, etc. "Works" for me. It really depends on what you're looking to get out of it! Otherwise you could have something custom built out of Acrylic. One of the guys in our reef club custom builds sumps and he's got a design for a 2 part sump that gets connected once in the stand.
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 10:42 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pleasant Gorve, Utah
Posts: 264
Send a message via MSN to fishrfreinds
Hey Im trying to do the same thing only that a 10 wont fit ether.(18" opening, 20" tank ) So Im going to acrylic it. 16"X8"X14" hope goes well got all christmas break to do it. hope what ever you do works out.
__________________

__________________
RIP Elliott Smith, and AD.

I dont want to be a Advice Freak!
fishrfreinds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
55 gallon, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
55gal reef is going well now 55gal FO melissasreef Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 12 07-24-2009 08:02 PM
New 55gal HoCkEyGmC New Acquisitions 14 12-14-2008 10:09 PM
HOB Skimmer, or just wait and get a sump? (55gal) boardsurfer General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 01-29-2006 09:24 PM
Placing a CPR CY194 bio-filter in a 55gal sump Obmanta Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 04-13-2005 05:55 PM
i need some help new 55gal lostseamonkey Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 03-13-2005 11:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.