Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-05-2013, 07:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Spechty37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 487
Sump/fuge question

My question is about my fuge I don't think my sump is giving my fuge good enough flow would it hurt to put a small power head in the fuge I have a huge problem with bubbles collecting on everything and a lot of nuisance algae anyone got any suggestions thank you
__________________

__________________
Spechty37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 09:28 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Spechty37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 487
Anyone got any suggestions
__________________

__________________
Spechty37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 02:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jolee0722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 244
You could put some snails or crabsbin their to get rid of the algae and some people put small powerheads in their refugium so it wouldnt hurt to do that if you think there is not enough flow
__________________
Jolee0722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 02:37 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Spechty37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 487
I think I'm going to try snails and a power head thanks
__________________
Spechty37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 03:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Yes, I'd put a power head in your 'fuge..... I've got 3 of them just to ensure good circulation in & around the rock, but mine is a remote 'fuge.
As far as the nuisance algae in the 'fuge, I'd let it grow & just pull/suck some out if it gets overwhelming. To quote MrX, when it comes to your 'fuge, "the nastier the better"..... that means it's consuming nutrients.
__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 04:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Spechty37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 487
Wow you know I never thought about it like that. That is so true I'm new to saltwater only been in it about nine months or so and I always always had a low nitrate problem I just couldn't get rid of them I've had my sump/fuge running for a couple months now and I been nitrate free for about three weeks. You got to love all the knowledge that the people on this site has to offer. Thanks guys/gals
__________________
Spechty37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 12:34 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
I had an issue of low flow through my sump as well. It did cause a bigger problem in my tank. With about 2x turnover through my sump, very little nutrients were being moved to the sump for removal via the skimmer and macro algae. The result was a slow increase in algae in the DT. Actually, not really slow, because once it started, it built up kinda fast. I have since replaced my sump pump with a DC pump giving about 900-1000gph flow and around 8x turnover. My algae problem is slowly going away and my skimmer and chaeto are both exporting much more.
Point is, be careful with too low of sump flow.
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 05:37 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Spechty37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 487
I put a 150gph power head in It I think I'm turning about 5x I have a mag 9.5 for my return I just hooked a phosban 150 reactor up any idea what chamber of the sump I should put the pump in and what chamber to pump it in to
__________________
Spechty37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 06:39 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Don't put anything in the refugium that eats algae. It totally defeats the purpose of having the algae in the first place.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 07:36 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Spechty37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 487
Good one Mrx that would be kinda stupid now that I think about it lol. Would that be any kinda phosphate remover
__________________

__________________
Spechty37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.