Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-03-2011, 04:10 PM   #1
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,539
Sump Help!

I want a sump on my tank. It is a 36 gal, but I want the increase of area will help with air and so on. This will provide me a place for my protein skimmer and some other things I have in my tank. But here's my issue. I do not want to drill into my tank, as it has already cycled. I am able to grasp lots of things around this aquarium, but this sump confuses me.

This is what I keep coming back to as I search.
Aqueon ProFlex Modular Sump Filtration Systems at PETCO

I like that I could switch up how I use it if I wanted to, but will be using it Berlin style.

So, I know I'll need an overflow... I was looking at the Aqueon HOB one. I know most of you guys don't like HOB overflows, but it is pretty much my only choice. Would I need 2, one for intake and one for return? Or can I just take my PRV pipe right into the tank, or above it, with a screen?

I'm also confused in terms of pumps. The intake pump is 550 gph, but the only return pumps offered by the company are 485 and 630 so I figure that I'd need to match it. I don't know, it is the whole pump part that fries my brain. This is where I need the most imput.
__________________

__________________
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 04:36 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
you would use one overflow box. you'll have a return line that will be separate from the overflow box for returning water from sump.
you don't use an intake pump. the return pump dictates all flow. this will need to be close to the overflow box, minus head loss. so if i was using a 700 gph overflow, i would probably use a 800-1000 gph pump and throttle as necessary.
those aqueon sumps are crazy expensive. you can easily build your own for a fraction of their cost.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 04:43 PM   #3
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,539
I was able to build the table my setup is on, that is the best I can do and one leg is still a tad short. A sump is beyond me. It might be a tad expensive, but it's christmas time! I had an offer to pay half of whatever I'd like for my new aquarium so... any issues with this one?

Thanks for the info on the gph. I had it all backwards.
__________________
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 04:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
the skimmer they come with is garbage. figure out your space and research a quality skimmer to fit it.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 04:53 PM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,539
I alraedy have a skimmer, ready and waiting.
__________________
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 04:56 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
cool. btw, i happen to like the CPR overflow boxes best. they utilize and aqualifter pump and i find this to be an extra failsafe against the HOb box not restarting after a power outage. they do wear out though, and at the price of about 15 bucks, it's good to replace them yearly.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 04:59 PM   #7
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,539
Always wonderful to get advice from the master

One last question, since I was going to Berlin this thing, since I have over 50 lbs of LR in my 36 gal...is there a point to putting LR in my sump? I don't think anymore will do anything at all...
__________________
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 05:08 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
na..no master here. just did a few things right here and there.
more live rock can't hurt. not unless it's impeding flow in the tank.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 05:18 PM   #9
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,539
No impeded flow that I have noticed. Thoughts on a refrigerum with the berlin?
__________________
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 05:37 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
a refugium? sure. that can never be a bad thing
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overflow/15g sump: tons of questions! victor.m DIY Projects 5 10-23-2011 11:42 PM
To Sump or To Not to Sump? bruinsbro1997 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 09-26-2011 12:27 AM
To Sump or Not to Sump - Freshwater MrBeta General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 09-17-2011 02:56 PM
To Sump or not to Sump? wrmiller Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-20-2011 05:02 PM
Sump pump size donh DIY Projects 7 07-21-2011 03:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.