Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-11-2013, 03:39 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
chbix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 161
Yes most people put skimmers, heaters, probes, reactors etc Down in the sump. Also you can out additional sand and live rock, macro algae like chaeto. And pretty much anything you don't want in your dt.

Look up overflow boxes. There's are acrylic boxes that hang on your display tank, a siphone pulls water over into the box that hangs on the tank. You then plumb the outlets down under the tank into the sump. You then have a return pump in the sump that pushes the water back into the display tank.

You can be as simple or complex as you want.
__________________

__________________
chbix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 03:42 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Psychocircus91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 721
by the way many people say a sump in necessary for larger tanks. It truely isn't. However, while it will make things a bit more difficult when you first start up, things will be much easier long term if you have a sump. As mentioned, your tank will look better because all of your equipment is below, you also have more water volume.
Personally, I bought a premade sump because I was already overwhelmed. For any future tanks I will make one because I know what I'm doing now.
Additionally most skimmers for large tanks are in sump.
For a 55 you can comfortably go either way.
__________________

__________________
75 Gallon Reef
Psychocircus91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:05 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
aquinn425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psychocircus91 View Post
you can drill into glass as long as its not tempered glass. you need diamond drill heads though
It is tempered :/
__________________
aquinn425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:53 PM   #14
member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 31
I just built one myself. It literally took me 3 days to complete. Its only a 10 gallon but works perfect. Got the tank for 10 bucks and used acryllic for baffles 4 bucks a piece. Easy to cut. Then used marineland silicone 6 bucks. The most expensive part is the overflow and return pump but you can find them cheap. Definitely worth it IMO. I dont have to stare at my protein skimmer, heater and filter the whole time. I also added some filter media in between the baffles for extra filtration.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130111_165338.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	62.4 KB
ID:	143494



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130111_165125.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	62.9 KB
ID:	143493
__________________
50gFOWLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 06:34 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
aquinn425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 129
It's very overwhelming... Kinda just makes me wanna stick to my tropical freshwater... :/
__________________
aquinn425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 06:42 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by 50gFOWLR View Post
I just built one myself. It literally took me 3 days to complete. Its only a 10 gallon but works perfect. Got the tank for 10 bucks and used acryllic for baffles 4 bucks a piece. Easy to cut. Then used marineland silicone 6 bucks. The most expensive part is the overflow and return pump but you can find them cheap. Definitely worth it IMO. I dont have to stare at my protein skimmer, heater and filter the whole time. I also added some filter media in between the baffles for extra filtration.
Nice rig My only concern with the siphon "powered" overflows is if the siphon is lost...biiiiig mess awaits. I saw somewhere online where someone made a failsafe that basically cut off the return pump if the water got too low in the sump, but I can't find it.

Seeing as how my first SW tank is going to be a 20G setup, having the "dirty work" under the tank, rather than in it, is a big consideration for me. I just need to figure out how to make a failsafe overflow.
__________________
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 06:47 PM   #17
member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 31
I thought the same thing as well. Until I started it. You don't need to have a sump it's really just up to you. Sumps just make things a little easier. And adds water volume. Realistically the only reason I have one is to make my display tank more appealing to the eye.
__________________
50gFOWLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 07:02 PM   #18
member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 31
Thanks. Lol yeah I did test that. It gets pretty close.
__________________
50gFOWLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 07:10 PM   #19
member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 31
But the box on the back has a tube with a sponge around it the water fills to the top of that tube then trickles down to the sump. So if the siphon is broke that water level goes down quick. And won't flow to the sump.And I put two little holes in the plastic on the return line. If the power goes out the water won't get siphoned down to the sump that way either.
__________________
50gFOWLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 07:45 PM   #20
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmolavi View Post
Nice rig My only concern with the siphon "powered" overflows is if the siphon is lost...biiiiig mess awaits. I saw somewhere online where someone made a failsafe that basically cut off the return pump if the water got too low in the sump, but I can't find it.

Seeing as how my first SW tank is going to be a 20G setup, having the "dirty work" under the tank, rather than in it, is a big consideration for me. I just need to figure out how to make a failsafe overflow.
You could just get one of the CPR overflows with an aqualifter. It will prevent siphon loss as long as you properly maintain the entire system. I run one without much issue besides the rare snail getting sucked up in and trapped in the intake hole for the aqualifter. A simple paperclip can remove any clog from it though and returns things to normal. I'm happy with it, but would prefer a drilled tank and plan on one for my next project.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me with my sump for 40g Reef CleverBs Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 11-17-2012 11:39 AM
To Sump or Not to Sump - Freshwater MrBeta General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 09-17-2011 02:56 PM
elevating the sump firefishgoby Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 08-21-2011 02:10 AM
To Sump or not to Sump? wrmiller Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-20-2011 05:02 PM
Sump pump size donh DIY Projects 7 07-21-2011 03:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.