Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-11-2003, 01:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: ohio
Posts: 93
sump question

Thinking about building my own sump. I'm thinking a 20 or 25 gal aquarium and just hooking it up to an overflow box. I was told to get one with U tubing. Anyone have good luck with a certain brand of overflow box? Also I was told my fluval 404 was not enough filtration. Should I add another filter? A emperor something or other was suggested to me. Could I place that in my sump and should i keep my canister filter in the main tank or should i run that through my sump as well? Also protein skimmer....what brand? But shouldn't my 80 lbs of live rock im planning on getting, protein skimmer, and canister filter be enough filtration without adding another filter?
__________________

__________________
DamselnDistress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 01:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
I use a CPR overflow. I know people have had problems with them, but I think that is normally due to a powerhead failure instead of the overflow actually being at fault. I have noticed that even if I turn off the powerhead that is connected to the overflow for 12 hours, the overflow continues to work, although the overflow volume is reduced.

You don't need a canister filter if you are using LR and LS. Just make sure you have plent of circulation inside the tank (i.e. get some powerheads).

As far as skimmers, get the sump model of the Aqua C. I believe they call it the Urchin. From what I hear, that is the best skimmer out there for that price.
__________________

__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 03:24 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
I have had good luck with the old U tube overflow design. I have heard some bad things about the CPR's although I agree with Biggen...if they fail, it would be due to the powerhead stopping. I would use a Maxi Jet PH on it...nothing less than an MJ900 with a 1200 being better. The 1200 will actually restart the siphon by itself. I'm not sure if the 900 would or not.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 04:39 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
I second the U tube overflows over the CPR's. Hara got some on ebay that she liked and I have a double overflow from www.lifereef.com
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 05:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
I have noticed that even if I turn off the powerhead that is connected to the overflow for 12 hours, the overflow continues to work, although the overflow volume is reduced.
not enough to even think about noticing
i disagree with this !! sorry but the power head only pulls alittle water and what ever air is trapped at the top ! the only reason ya need a powerhead in the first place is just to restart the syphon if the power goes out !! the prob i found with these is ya want to use a black air line so algae dont build up and stop the flow also if ya have a box bigger than what water your pushing tru it ,that sometimes junk get stuck to the air line stopping the flow of air out of the box !! so match ya box with your flow the best you can !! evey now and then ya will have to poke something into the hole to free junk stuck in the hole !! i run one of mine with no power head at all but power outages her are slim to none
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 07:37 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Ok, I re-read your post a ton of times and I think I finally understand what you are saying.

Basically you are saying that one only needs the PH if the siphon breaks? Correct?

Not necessarily. If enough air builds up inside the overflow, it will break. The PH keeps this from happening. Running the overflow without the PH not only increases your chances for a flood on your floor, but also reduces the amount of volume the overflow is capable of.

If you don't believe me, run the overflow with the PH on for a few minutes and notice your tank water level. Next, run the overflow without the PH and, again, look at your tank water level. It is higher without the PH on. If enough air built up inside the overflow, the siphon would break and the contents of your sump would be pumped onto the floor.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 07:38 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Oh, btw. I am playing devil's advocate. If I had to do it again, I would take Logan's advice and buy a U tube type overflow.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 10:01 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: ohio
Posts: 93
hm ok u tube type...well do i really need to do the whole sump thing if i have like 80 pounds of live rock or 90 pounds and a canister filter and a protein skimmer....i was a prizm hang on pro for 100 bucks at my lfs they have them on sale...i need a hang on if i have no sump. And i need the back of my tank to look neat n clean without a bunch of gross filter stuff hanging off the back because my kitchen table is near the back of the tank.
__________________
DamselnDistress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 09:21 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
OK, first you really don't need the canister for anything other than flow and possibly the occasional use of AC. The trouble with canisters in SW tanks is that they will contribute to nitrate levels. The Prizm Pro for $100 is a great deal. Are you sure it's not the smaller Prizm Deluxe? Average online price for the Pro is about $200.00. I like the Aqua C for a HOB skimmer. Remora for up to about a 55 gal and Remora Pro for up to about 125 gal or so. JMHO.
As far as having stuff hanging on the back of the tank, you're going to have this either way unless you have the tank drilled. The overflow will hang off the back with a hose going down to the sump. Of course, the HOB skimmer would hang back there as well. You might be able to put your HOB stuff on the side of the tank though.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 08:16 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: ohio
Posts: 93
yep 100 bucks...they have the regular non pro skimmer on sale for 80 bucks i was like whoahhhh
__________________

__________________
DamselnDistress is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To sump or not to sump, that is the question eatsomepopcorn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 01-19-2010 03:41 PM
Sump question? 2nicewitit Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 10-21-2008 10:03 PM
To sump or not to sump that is the question neptune General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 02-25-2006 07:15 PM
Sump question ... Lighting question. dansemacabre Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 10 07-27-2003 12:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.