Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-10-2012, 12:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
sump questions

ok. so i have a sump that was pre-made, it is for an aquarium for up to 75 g. i was wondering if it will be big enough for my 125 g saltwater that i am going to be setting up next week? also it has bio-balls, can i or should i replace the bio-balls section with live rock to get better filtration? Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreceated......
__________________

__________________
Jeffrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:42 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 1,156
Well I know about the sump it's not necessarily designed for a tank size just more water mass is better in your system. You can put a 100gallon sump on a 30gallon in you wanted.
__________________

__________________
EriksFish315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 01:05 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
How much live rock is in your display? can you take a picture of this sump?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 01:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
i will take a pic, i have not set up yet, i have glass-holes sending me a overflow kit to install first. then lr....and a long wait !
__________________
Jeffrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 01:17 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
Here is the pic of the sump, i know it kinda cheap one but i think it will work
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0168.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	158.2 KB
ID:	75814  
__________________
Jeffrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 01:22 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
i plan on puting about 100 lbs of live rock in DT when i get it set up, the DT will have 2 750 gph overflows in it when i am done, then i have an fx5 that i am considering using for a water polish and a return pump.....what do you think?
__________________
Jeffrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 01:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
How high is the water level in that sump going to be? The height of that low partition just before the sponge filter? If so, you aren't going to be able to put much rock in there.
I would take out those partitions and glue in a new one(s) that keep the water level around 10" deep. Then you can use the bio ball compartment ad a refugium. a little sand maybe...live rock, macro algae...

That is a wet dry. It's built that way so that you can keep the bio balls mostly exposed to air.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 01:52 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
it is a wet dry system, the water level at max is about 9 1/2 inches deep, i can put rock and sand under the bioballs too cant i? where the water comes off the bioballs? just to the left of the skimmer?
__________________
Jeffrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 02:03 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
can i not put in the bioballs and fill up that section with live rock? does the live rock need to be submerged or just remain wet?
__________________
Jeffrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 02:08 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
That water level that is 9.5" deep- it fluctuates with evaporation, correct? You are not going to be able to run that skimmer efficiently in a constantly changing water level. Another reason to glue a new partition in just after the skimmer.

If you don't use the bio balls you can make a refugium there, but I would suggest putting the skimmer before the refugium so you aren't skimming out your pods. yet another pump they must survive before the display.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 02:12 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
so would it be just a better idea to get a new sump alltogether? if so could you suggest one and a summary of how you would suggest to set it up so i can see.... i have a uv sterilizer that i would like to fit in here somewhere as well. i would greatly appreceate your input.
__________________
Jeffrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 02:14 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
as soon as my holes are drilled would like to have my set-up figured out so i can get things moving....been staring at empty tank for about 2 months collecting things for my set-up along the way.
__________________
Jeffrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 02:33 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
ok.......... so im thinking of purchasing this Eshopps Refugium R-200,125-225 gal, 2nd Generation
for my sump, not sure if my pump will fit it is a RIO 2500. would this be better for my 125 than the one i currently have in the picture before?
__________________
Jeffrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 02:34 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
As I stated above, you can make that one work for you with a few simple mods.
I build my own out of standard aquariums.
I make them - intake with skimmer, then refugium, then return area. The skimmer and refugium area water levels should remain constant, so they will need to be partitioned from each other, and also from the return area.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 02:36 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffrock View Post
ok.......... so im thinking of purchasing this Eshopps Refugium R-200,125-225 gal, 2nd Generation
for my sump, not sure if my pump will fit it is a RIO 2500. would this be better for my 125 than the one i currently have in the picture before?
Yep. That one is more like what you want, but at a price. You can do that yourself for Under 100 dollars.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 03:12 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
ok, just ordered the eshopps R-200 refugium for my tank! yeah!!!! should be here in a few days......
__________________
Jeffrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 03:34 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
where should i put the UV sterilizer? right before the return? in the return line? do i need to use this? i am planning to use the FX5 as a water polish and return pump. good idea or not?
__________________
Jeffrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 03:50 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
You don't need to use it. I would not use a canister filter as a return pump either. The refugium will have a lot of pods breeding in it which you want to make it to the display. You'll have to clean out a canister filter about weekly to keep the nitrate levels down and that will kill off a lot of the critters that you want alive.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 03:56 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
ok, thanks.... what size return pump should i be looking for for the sump that im getting? its gonna move a lot of water won't it?
__________________
Jeffrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 04:17 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
The sump size isn't really the issue. It's the overflow. Which one did you get?
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sump Questions! coltsfan82 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 02-06-2012 01:56 AM
DIY Sump and Skimmer setup questions Retired_AF Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 1 01-13-2012 08:20 PM
sump questions Jarrett General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 26 10-25-2011 08:57 AM
overflow/15g sump: tons of questions! victor.m DIY Projects 5 10-23-2011 11:42 PM
Sump set up questions tjmortenson Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-25-2011 04:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×