Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-26-2005, 01:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 123
sump/ref questions

I have some questions about my sump/ref thing i'm trying to build.

1) Can you syphon water directly out of the tank into the sump? If so I was thinking about using an old intake to a power filter, that way nothing could get sucked up through the tube.

2) I have a 15 tall tank that will fit below my 29 gallon stand, and a few different pumps to chose from for the return to the main. (some power heads, and a 250gph pond pump, and a 500gph pond pump) Think these might work?

3) I can not find any other sand other than regular play sand, I have aragonite sand in the main and that helps buffer. I was thinking about putting 4-5 inches of sand in the refugium (I also have macro algae in my main tank I will put in the refugium) Will that change the PH, or with the aragonite in the main keep the PH up?
__________________

__________________
Go Big Blue!!
Lindsikins00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 01:24 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarineFlake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Memphis, Tn
Posts: 816
You should use an overflow. If you siphon straight from the tank, you'll lose power, break the siphon and when the power comes back on, you win a free trip to the carpet store. Needless to say VERY NOT recommended..You can get overflows for about $50 plus shipping for your size tank..

http://www.aquaplumbers.com/index.ph...&products_id=3 for example.

Return pump needs to be rated for what you are doing. Check and see what the flow rate is about 4' (Typical height). That will help determine your actual turnover. A tank, tub, bucket, etc all are viable options for sumps. Typically just a place to put the heater, skimmer and other trash we don't like hanging on or in our tanks ; ) Were itme and I had a 15 tall for my 29G Id be tempted to make it a fuge instead..

GL!
__________________

__________________
To fail to plan is to plan to fail.
MarineFlake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 01:34 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 123
Yea, my skimmer leaked and there was about 4 gallons of saltwater on the floor. At least it was on tile, and we are on a bottom floor. You think that model

http://www.aquaplumbers.com/index.ph...&products_id=4)

would be ok for a 29 gallon, can there be too much flow? I know you should keep a sump and refugium seperate but can I put the heater down there? Or maybe filter and heater? Or would the macro algae clog the filter up?
__________________
Go Big Blue!!
Lindsikins00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 10:57 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarineFlake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Memphis, Tn
Posts: 816
The only real rule is to make sure the overflow will out drain the sump pump. That is, you really don't want a situation where you can flood your tank by cranking up your pump. So, if your getting (for example) a Mag 5 or MAg 7 ( http://www.marinedepot.com/aquarium_...me.asp?CartId= ) which are 310 GPH and 480 GPH respectively @ 4 foot, then you should be good to go. The mag 5 @ 310 GPH will get you just over a turnover rate of about 10 x / hr. The 7 will achieve about 15 x / hr. (10 x being the very minimum in most cases you should shoot for) The 500GPH overflow is perfect since even with the Mag 7 wide open (In theory) you could not flood the tank. You can put whatever you want in the sump. I keep my skimmer (CPR SR 4) and heater in there as well as my return pump. As for putting macro in there, with that much turbulant water pouring in it will be hard to keep it from getting entangled in your return pump or clogging it. Not good. Also, you would need a light on it which introduces other complications..less you've little fear of electric shock and have a firm grip on DIY ; )

As for the overflow /sump you linked to, just check the dimensions to make sure it'll fit under your tank. Nothing worse than trying to figure out how to pound a square peg through a round hole with over 100# 's of sand rock and fish sitting in the tank ; ) Again, almost any container (That won't leach bad things) will work as a sump. Some folks have posted pics of using plastic, acrylic, etc..just no metal 8O

GL!
__________________
To fail to plan is to plan to fail.
MarineFlake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
for everyones future ref on treatment lets combine our knowledge on wat works for us. divedeep1689 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 0 10-16-2009 01:15 AM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
30-40 gallon tank or hole setup wanted?Or any ref ready tank Dewey Midwest & the Dakotas 2 03-13-2005 10:12 PM
Aptasia in a ref. xxmoorishmanxx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 11-01-2004 08:37 PM
In Ref: Sick Fish 2 dead in 2 days......follow up grapeponey Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 0 04-26-2004 09:23 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.