Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-19-2013, 06:47 PM   #111
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
I also have this skimmer. Not too sure about using it. Like many people know, I'm new to the whole thing. Not quite sure what these 3 lines go to? I know this 5/8 goes to pump, but this ribbed one with a red valve? And this smaller ribbed one is coming off of collection canister. Thought on which one to use...

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2258523607.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	151.1 KB
ID:	145463
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2117219935.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	136.8 KB
ID:	145464  
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 07:16 PM   #112
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
The turbofloater is 10 times the skimmer that coralife skimmer is. Those turbofloaters take time to get dialed in, but eventually, you'll be skimming well.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 07:23 PM   #113
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Perfect! Thanks seŮor X.
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 07:41 PM   #114
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CorallineAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 3,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X
The turbofloater is 10 times the skimmer that coralife skimmer is. Those turbofloaters take time to get dialed in, but eventually, you'll be skimming well.
I'll back you up on that. I've used three models of turbofloaters and they all worked well. One was about as tall as me!
__________________
CorallineAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 05:53 PM   #115
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
Your pump will put the water and air in uninterrupted. Then the outflow goes out the valve and the more you close it, the more back pressure there is so the higher the bubbles go in the skimmer. That is the valve you tweak to get just the right amount of bubbles to overflow into the cup. If you don't empty your cup enough and it gets full, it will go out the other small tube back into the sump. Many put a hose on that into a bucket.
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:14 PM   #116
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Thanks ingy! I won't be using that skimmer. I'll just stick to the aqua medic.
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 03:38 PM   #117
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
So I went Lowes today to pick up a couple bulk heads. The idiot there didn't know what I was talking about. Finally I found some. They were a cream color and only 3/4 inch. Would that work if I'm running 1.25" PVC. I'd just bush up....
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 03:49 PM   #118
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Also I got some jb weld to repair one of my overflow boxes. Is this a good type of glue?
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 05:50 PM   #119
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
No way. you do not want to restrict your drains to 3/4". get the correct bulkheads for your tank. If they are 1.25", then you need a 1.25" bulkhead.
what is wrong with the overflow box exactly? You could probably just use aquarium silicone to seal it up.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 05:57 PM   #120
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
The front lip that screws to actual slotted box broke when I was drilling holes. I cut it off. I cut a new piece and re-drilled holes. Now I brew to glue it back.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1066476626.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	130.5 KB
ID:	146329
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.