Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-03-2013, 12:48 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
No valve on the display drain. You never want to restrict that. You can adjust intake to the sump by choking off the return pump (at the outlet).
Judging by owning multiple skimmers, I would use that turbofloater on nothing larger than a 75 gallon tank.
The size of the skimmer plus the pump gph is what I'm going by. Look to other manufacturers' skimmers rated for 250 gallons and you will see what I mean.
It's certainly not going to hurt you to use it, but you could purchase something more efficient.
Putting the skimmer in the sump instead of hanging it on the back will also save you in the event that it overflows. If you have an "event" in the tank which causes the skimmer to overflow, it will continue to do so until your sump is empty.
You could burn out your return pump, have no filtration and heat until you are aware of the problem, and have a terrible mess on your floor. There is no good reason to hang it on the back if you have a sump.
As far as rock rubble is concerned, you can simply take a hammer to some larger rocks.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 01:35 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Thanks X for all of your helpful tips. I will have the skimmer inside instead of hanging. Also all of the research that I've done says that this skimmer is rated for up to 250g... I'm going to give it a try and see how it works. I currently am running a canister 350 and a fluidized bed hob filter. I can't wait to get the sump and skimmer up and running. My water quality should improve greatly. Thx
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 02:52 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Yes, it's rated for 250 gallons. It was rated so about 10 years ago, when they first developed the skimmer. Skimmers have evolved since then. The turbofloater did not.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 02:55 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Gotcha! Thanks. I'll probably run it for a couple months until I can afford a better one. Can't hurt... Your profile pic cracks me up. Haha
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 09:45 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
@ oreef- if I do sand/rock in my second chamber don't you thing that the sand will make its way through my bubble trap and into return chamber? Also I am going to get a piece of glass cut to set on the rock for my chaeto to sit in. This glass will have a bunch of holes for good water flow. Would it be a plus to also sandwich a few filter pads between the rock/sand bed and the chaeto? Your guys' input has been greatly appreciated!
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 09:57 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Something like this.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-696158636.jpg
Views:	144
Size:	152.3 KB
ID:	141579
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 11:59 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
bazeball05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 133
Don't use the filter pads, not necessary...
__________________
bazeball05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:24 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Ok great. Thx, otherwise you think everything will work out well. You don't think the sand will move into the return chamber?
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:27 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
bazeball05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 133
No it won't. It will will stay nestled in the bottom
__________________
bazeball05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 04:37 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
I have a 50lbs bag oh silica sand, can I use that in my refug chamber? Or would live sand be better...
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.