Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-04-2013, 05:51 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
bazeball05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 133
Live sand is what I recommend but you can use the dry... the dry won't have the life right away and it will take more time for the refugium to work properly
__________________

__________________
bazeball05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:06 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CorallineAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 3,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaltwaterNuB
I have a 50lbs bag oh silica sand, can I use that in my refug chamber? Or would live sand be better...
I wouldn't use silica sand. Dry aragonite or live sand will be fine. I prefer the dry myself unless the live sand is actually ocean sand (not in a bag).

The Turbofloater is a fine skimmer. It may not be the best choice if you plan on having lots and lots of fish but if you plan on having a fairly light bioload it'll be all you need. I'd even be happy to buy it from you if you ever decide to change it out. I used to use them on all the shop tanks. I used a 5 foot tall external Turbofloater on a 600 gallon display tank that I setup for a fish shop years back.
__________________

__________________
CorallineAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:10 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
bazeball05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 133
What kind of overflow are you doing on your display? Have you heard of the Herbie overflow method?
__________________
bazeball05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:20 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
I purchased a set of 2 overflow boxes that hob. They're about 8" wide with the black slotted box that sits in tank. Tho is my first time with all I this. I'm hoping it turns out ok. I don't think I'll use both.
I've heard good reviews on this skimmer and for getting it so keep, I figure I'd give it a shot.
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:46 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
bazeball05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 133
Oh okay I gotcha! It is really easy to make an internal overflow if you want to but you don't have to haha. Is your refugium hob aswell?
__________________
bazeball05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:00 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
No my refugium will be in my sump. It'll be my second chamber, and sit on top of my l/r and sand.
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:06 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
bazeball05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 133
Haha right! You have a good set up
__________________
bazeball05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:11 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Don't make that assumption quite yet. We'll see after its all up and running. In on call all next week, so work won't begin until sometime around the 15th. I'll post a lot of pics of my status an probably ask a lot more questions. Lol
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:50 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
bazeball05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaltwaterNuB View Post
Don't make that assumption quite yet. We'll see after its all up and running. In on call all next week, so work won't begin until sometime around the 15th. I'll post a lot of pics of my status an probably ask a lot more questions. Lol
I am always here to help! If you need anything ask away!
__________________
bazeball05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:20 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
One thing that I was thinking about is; do I need to add a sack filled with carbon anywhere in my sump?
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.