Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-05-2013, 01:22 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
bazeball05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaltwaterNuB View Post
One thing that I was thinking about is; do I need to add a sack filled with carbon anywhere in my sump?
I have one in mine between my refugium and my return chamber... it helps with the smell and the water clarity. Also, I put the carbon in without washing it off first. That allows the carbon particles to cling onto unwanted particles in the tank and the protein skimmer takes out more gunk.
__________________

__________________
bazeball05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 01:34 AM   #32
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Ok so I'll probably put a bag or two in my return chamber since there is not a chamber between the ref and the return.
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 01:41 AM   #33
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
bazeball05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 133
That will work or in the first chamber underneath where the water drains into the sump! Both Will work
__________________
bazeball05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:25 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Well here's one of my overflow boxes. I just dripped holes in clear box to mount to black box. This one went good. The other one that I have broke on me while I was drilling it. In so mad, but it's an easy fix. So far does it look ok?


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1429225298.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	139.9 KB
ID:	142009
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3768096090.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	141.4 KB
ID:	142010   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1678321103.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	129.7 KB
ID:	142011  

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 09:42 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Sand at the bottom of the sump as seen in the illustration you posted, will always cause you problems. The way your design is, you have water running through the sand before it reaches the return area. I don't think this will work.

Always rinse out the carbon before adding it. You do not want carbon particles making it to the display. If the skimmer skims more because of this practice, it's simply skimming out carbon particles. Putting carbon in the sump in a bag is not very effective. If you want to run carbon, a better way would be to run it in a reactor. Water must be forced through the carbon for it to be of use.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:38 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
bazeball05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
Sand at the bottom of the sump as seen in the illustration you posted, will always cause you problems. The way your design is, you have water running through the sand before it reaches the return area. I don't think this will work.

Always rinse out the carbon before adding it. You do not want carbon particles making it to the display. If the skimmer skims more because of this practice, it's simply skimming out carbon particles. Putting carbon in the sump in a bag is not very effective. If you want to run carbon, a better way would be to run it in a reactor. Water must be forced through the carbon for it to be of use.
Hmm... okay! Just some advice I heard about the carbon but I will take your advice about washing it. The water is forced through in my sump due to it being between my 2nd and 3rd chamber. It works really well. Thanks for the advise Mr. X!
__________________
bazeball05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:05 AM   #37
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
I will rinse as well, what is a reactor? Also should I just eliminate the sand and just go l/r with chaeto on top of the rock?
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:10 AM   #38
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
bazeball05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 133
You could use miracle mud! Mr. X what do you think about miracle mud? And a reactor is a cylindrical container that you can put carbon or gfo or much other things and and the water is forced through the carbon thus maximize the effectiveness of the carbon or gfo
__________________
bazeball05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:12 AM   #39
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Oh gotcha! What's miracle mud. I remember you mentioned it previously.
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:16 AM   #40
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
The name pretty much says what it is. Will there be any problems by not having a chamber between my return and refugium?
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.