Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-13-2013, 10:44 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evo8 View Post
Ok...cool I have a 15 g extra ill hook up..fml I need to add about more lbs of sand..its going to cloud again isnt it?
Can I use regular rock (not live) in my filter as rubble and it will build bacteria? Also should I keep my pumps and all on or turn them off and let things settle
I agree with Street. Add all the sand now. You can run the pumps, and filter. The pumps will help all the really fine particle matters fine their way into the filter.
__________________

__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 10:59 PM   #12
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 421
I have to pick up another bag of sand tomorro..I think its clearing a bit now..and yeah just dry rock..say broken up base rock
__________________

__________________
Evo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:01 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evo8 View Post
I have to pick up another bag of sand tomorro..I think its clearing a bit now..and yeah just dry rock..say broken up base rock
Yes will be fine. If you are putting rubble in a HOB it will eventually establish bacteria, as well
as be a nice little breeding ground for pods...
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:09 PM   #14
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 421
It, s a biocube, I suspect this doesnt make a difference? Can I use any rock as base rock
__________________
Evo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:12 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
No. Some land rock is comprised of things you do not want in a salt water tank. Heavy metals, and other elements that are not ideal.
Use calcium based rock.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:14 PM   #16
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 421
Like rock from the beach? Im in sw florida and come across great rock pieces around our beaches all the time..I have some in my 60g cichlid tank
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20131013_221405.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	64.5 KB
ID:	202387   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20131013_221422.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	64.5 KB
ID:	202388  

__________________
Evo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:35 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I answered in the other thread. Those rocks you have there should be fine to use. Just make sure you never dosed the cichlid tank with copper based meds for ich, and it's ok to use. If you did, then there is a chance you may not be able to keep inverts because the copper will leach out of the rock and kill them.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 02:38 PM   #18
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 421
Much better today guys!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20131014_133742.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	202457  
__________________
Evo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 04:55 PM   #19
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 421
Score! I got 16lbs of live sand from petco . 6 bucks on clearance. A guy off CL is willing to sell me around 25 lbs of live rock for 2 or 3 lbs a pound also..Fiji. any risks associated with this? My tank looks like a TV again after adding this new bag! FML. Lol any reason why the top foams when I add sand?
__________________
Evo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 05:02 PM   #20
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: i dont remember. let me take my arm out of the tank.
Posts: 680
Did you just put the salt in or mix with water prior? That may be your problem.
__________________

__________________
Fibsog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.