SW Chemisrtry Tests

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

usmcmarc

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Holy HazMat Batman!!! I figured since I have a reef tank. A small reef tank. Maybe I should get the test kits for Magnesium, Iodine, Strontium, etc..To make sure I have what is needed.

I got them today...WOW, Good thing I'm a Hazardous Materials Technician. These kits are unbelievable. Multiple steps, multiple reagents. Dangerous chemicals. People might want to think twice before purchasing these kits, unless they have some familiarity and comfort with chemistry. The Strontium test alone has 28% nitric acid solution in it. Nitric Acid is some BAAAADDD stuff...Extremely Poisonous, Severe Oxidizer, Extremely corrosive...

LOL, it is so true. I recently saw a show on TV and there a place that has just about every chemistry kit ever sold. The kits I got as a kid in the 60's contained stuff that would have the FBI knocking on your door if you tried to order it today.

The kits today can not really be called chemistry kits anymore. And yes, some of the chemicals we work with can be hazardous, as can some of the livestock we care for.

Which brand kits did you get?

I do test for Ca and Mg but not Strontium or Iodine. I figure my regular PWC's take care of those trace elements.

Glad to see you are testing before adding anything though.

The tests are seachem.

I tested Iodine and Magnesium tonight.

My Iodine came in very low, and there was a reference solution to verify against.

The normal Iodine range was said to be .06 mg/L

Mine came in at .01 mg/L..so I will be getting a supplement.

My Magnesium came in at 1375..the test said normal is between 1200 - 1400.

The Alk was a little confusing..the Mg test is also a Total Alk / Borate Alk / Carbonate Alk test kit.

My API KH kit says I am at 9 dKH. Norm is supposed to be 8-11 dKH.

This seachem kit says