SW or Not?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mfdrookie516

Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
So i have been looking at these beautiful sw tanks on here since i joined... i have no experience at all with saltwater, i have only had freshwater for 2 months now. I have become extremely addicted to the hobby in the last 2 months and now i want a sw tank. I love the look of coral and my fiance' loves (and i mean LOVES) clownfish... she also wants a starfish that she found on craigslist. How much money will i need to splurge on a saltwater setup? i have three 55gal tanks, i have several types of hob filters and a fluval 305 and 405... what would you guys recommend doing? i know i want to convert one of the 55's, so what all will i need to get? would it be better to wait and get some more experience or will i be ok with the knowledge i have picked up so far? just curious, probably will be a month or 2 before i will even have the money, etc... i may possibly getting a 75gal so if i get it, ill have to set it up as a sw... any help guys?

It cost me about $50 per gallon when I started my saltwater tanks. I got most everything off craigslist and forums. Live rock is usually $7 at the LFS I paid $3 a pound. Most of the sand I used was gotten when someone was taking down their tank. I would have been able to stock my tank for free since someone on craigslist was giving away fish.

I spent about 6 months researching before I started.

Go for it!!! I am also a FW to SW convert and I can;t believe how awesome SW Reef tanks are to own.

Get the 75gal and use one of your other tanks as a sump/refugium. I figure 75+55G is a nice amount of water to keep an extremely stable ecosystem!

Some expensive needs will be: