Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-15-2013, 03:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
wrasse326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 216
switching from 75 to 125 gallon

ok im fixing to get a 125 gallon aquarium. Right now i have a 75 gallon aquarium. I wanted to know if taking the water out of my 75 and putting it in to the new tank then filling the rest up with fresh water would be enough to be able to immediately put all of my fish and corals in the new aquarium or if i would still have to cycle the tank with live rocks in it for a couple of weeks?

Fish that will be put into the new tank are a hoevens wrasse, hiatchi anthias, 2 ocellaris clownfish, mandarin goby, clown goby, keyhole angel, bangii cardinal, yellow eye kole tang
Also have a choc chip starfish and a coral banded shrimp a condy anemone
Corals are mushrooms and daisy polyps and a pink tree lol. Think its the Kenya tree but can't remember.
Also what do people mean when they say their tank is drilled? What is it drilled for?
Thanks in advance for any answers. I love the fish i have and I've had them all for a long time. Don't want to kill any of them.
__________________

__________________
wrasse326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 04:15 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
phishfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH,VA
Posts: 1,527
You best bet is to move your filtration over as well.

Drilled means The tanks has holes drill in it for custom overflows.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
phishfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 04:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
wrasse326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 216
Well yea i intended to move those also. So would that make it ok to immediately put all of my fish in the new Tank?
__________________
wrasse326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 05:07 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
I did it before I look at it as doing a large water change just not removing any water. So yes I did it twice so far with no I'll affects.
__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 05:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
wrasse326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 216
Ok thanks. That's what i was hoping is that it would be enough water to just be like a water change. I just know saltwater fish are more sensitive to brand new water.
__________________
wrasse326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
125 gallon, 25 gallon, 5 gallon, chi, gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.