Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-15-2014, 03:36 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
andy281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NEW YORK
Posts: 36
Switching from a FLUVAL 406 to PROFLEX SUMP Model 2

Hey Everyone,
I have had my tank up for about a month I cycled my tank with pure ammonia and live rock for about a month and a half before adding livestock. I have been using a fluval 406 running ceramic bio media, all four sponges and carbon. I came across a great deal and bought a Aqueon ProFlex Model 2 Sump. If your not familiar with this style it can be used as a wet/dry filter, refugium, or a Berlin system. My question is what way should I use it and how can I avoid another cycle? What media should I run in the sock, and put in the sump? I don't have a protein skimmer yet ill be purchasing one with in the next month. I have a 55 GAL currently with 10 LBS of live rock. Ill be adding 50 LBS of dry rook within a week. My tank is not drilled so I will be using a CPR Overflow box 600GPH. I haven't bought a return pump yet, any suggestion? Currently have two Clowns in my tank. Any and all help/ suggestions are greatly appreciated thanks in advance!!


Aquatic-Airman
__________________

__________________
andy281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 03:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MJSerik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 389
I'd personally go with a refugium. And to avoid another cycle, cure the rock.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
MJSerik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 06:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
andy281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NEW YORK
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJSerik View Post
I'd personally go with a refugium. And to avoid another cycle, cure the rock.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

You don't think switching filters will cause a cycle? Should I use all the media in my canister filter and put it in the sump to seed it?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
andy281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 03:43 PM   #4
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,532
When you cycle a tank, you are building a bacteria base in the rock and sand in your tank. If you are following the 1 lbs per gallon of rock and sand, then changing out filter media doesn't matter at all because the bacteria are in the rock and sand...they are your main filtration in a SW tank.
In terms of switching to a sump, just some advice as I originally was scared of making my own sump when I first started and picked up one of those guys. It was a nice unit that was well built...but there is no room in it. You can save yourself a TON of money by just picking up some silicone, a cheap tank from your LFS, and any Lowes or Home Depot will cut you glass to scale. It took me about 20 minutes to put it together how I wanted it to be, and there are tons of ideas and guides on how to do this out there to help if you get confused. It was a much better idea to spend a total of 30 bucks to build a sump than over a hundred for one I wasn't happy with at all.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 10:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
andy281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NEW YORK
Posts: 36
thanks for all the info I added the sump a week ago and today removed the canister filter so I'm just running the sump and a protein skimmer which I'm having trouble breaking in. I ended up getting the proflex model 2 sump i didn't feel like going thru the aggravation of building it and so far i love it, i got it used off craigslist for $100. I removed the bio balls and thru them in the sump. Ill update in a month or so and let everyone know how it worked out.


Aquatic-Airman
__________________
andy281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chi, fluval, fluval 406, sump, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aqueon proflex sump vrs do it yourself sump fishman1995 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 11-01-2012 10:24 AM
proflex model 3 sump/refugium question Antec Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 06-20-2012 01:24 PM
Is there any differences between the fluval 405 and fluval 406? Banana mouse General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 06-02-2012 01:41 PM
Aqueon proflex sump SwimsWithFish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 10-17-2011 12:24 AM
New SWC 120 skimmer, proflex sump model 2 pics Gunk General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 09-16-2011 02:33 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.