Switching to the dark side...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jcarlilesiu

Aquarium Advice Addict
Well, its been quite some time since I have been here on the forum. To be quite honest, I was getting pretty bored as a freshy. I have been in the hobby longer than I can remember, and to be quite honest, I like the challenge. A challenging and developing tank is what keeps me motivated.

Currently, I have a high-tech, high light freshwater planted tank. It looks like this:

img_1062285_0_566961dad5ec6c63511edfbeb8019ce2.jpg

I think that now I want to move into SW. I love the reef look and want fish, inverts, and coral. I am not a complete noob to keeping a SW tank, as I kept a SW nano for quite some time.

img_1062285_1_b7ab97932a805fb2400d4851b90c8002.jpg

This nano had an electrical problem though and almost started a fire. I got rid of all of the stock and pitched the tank.

Due to living in a small condo in chicago though, I can't get another tank, so I have decieded to change the 56 gallon tall freshwater into a reef tank.

Because it is a high-tech fresh, I think I have just about all of the equipment I need. It is currently lit with (2) 150 Watt metal halide, and supplemented with (4) 25 watt T5.

I have a Fluva 305 cannister filter and a 200 watt heater.

I will need to get a skimmer.

My biggest fear is all of my stock. I have some fish in there that I have had for years. I hate to see them given to somebody that doesn't know what they are doing that is just going to kill them.

So anyway, if all goes as planned, you will be seeing more of me around these parts.

Any advice for the transition? Still trying to figure out how much base/live rock to buy, if I need to buy live sand, and all of the other issues around changing to saltwater.

As always I am excited for the adventure.