T-5 vs. Compacts

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mickey

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm a newbie to SW so I've been reading and reading constantly, but it seems like the more I read the more confused I get. :? Eventually, I would like to have some corals. Nothing hard core, just the basic easy to maintain ones...anemones, shrooms,etc. I know a lighting upgrade is necessary, but which one? I have a 26G which is about 21" tall, 23 3/4" length.

Is this considered a "tall" tank?

If so, will a 2x65 watt fixture be enough light for the things I want?

My main confusion is with the T-5 lighting. From what I've been reading, T-5's give off more light than a PC? Even if the T-5's have lower wattage?

I was either gonna go with a Coralife 2x65 watt PC fixture or the Nova Extreme 4x24 watt T-5 fixture. Any input would be great to ease my confusion.

First off, a mild correction. Anemone are not considered one of the easier things to maintain and MOST require high lighting.

My preference would be the T5's

PCFs, as opposed to the screw in CFs, are basically bent T5s, so their performance is compareable. Practicallity and cost then become the factors to decide which is better.

The corals that you named off except the anenomie are moderate light corals. Either one of those lights will do for those corals. And as Mrs Hare said the anenomie will need more light.

Now the confusion sets in again. Ok, so if 2 moderators tell me an anemone will need more light, it must be true, but I've been reading a lot of posts and there are people who are able to keep anemones with moderate lighting. Maybe I got mixed up or something.

So in order to keep an anemone I would need some MHs?