T5 as good as MH????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ncox38

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am getting ready to start a 37 gallon reef tank and i am still in the researching and planning stage. I have been keeping a heavily planted freshwater tank for the last 5+ years so I am not new to the hobby, just new to saltwater. Anyways, I went to the LFS tonight just to browse and get some input and the kid told me that T5's were just as good as MH. Has anyone else out there heard this before? I would rather spend more money up front and buy the equipment that will allow for me to expand and try harder corals in the future rather than buy another fixture later on.

Thanks.

I would recommend MH then. I have them, and its nice to know that I can put any coral, clam, etc under them. Basically, if you can buy it at the LFS, you can put it in your tank if you have the MH system. A little expensive, but well worth it if youre going to get hardcore. Thats my $.02.

I would agree with that assessment. T5 does not have the light penetration for deeper tanks. MH will always be adequate for your needs.

I would also agree on the MH. It's just comforting to know I can add almost anything I want.

I have a friend who states that his heaters never come on because of the MH lighting. He has a chiller. He has stated that no matter how cold the room is the heaters will not likely be used. Now I looked at the prices of chillers and they are very expensive. If I get MH lights is it true that I will more than likely need a chiller?