Taking my clown back

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

matman

Aquarium Advice Activist
I posted yesterday about my Clownfish acting weird, and was surprised to hear how bad it was to have a fish in while cycling.

Clearly I'm new at this. But i'm obsessed, and REALLY want to learn all i can.

I think i will take my clown back tomorrow. Now, if my tank has been running for about a week, how much longer should i wait before adding fish? My problem is that i'm VERY impatient. HAHA.

Also, that lady at my LFS said that Clowns are good for cycling...sheesh, it stinks being a newbie!

She probably has a slight disregard for fish as she has so many of them go through her store. Your doing the right thing. It can take a while to cycle a tank, a month or more in some cases, but I know it can be different with saltwater tanks too...it doesnt look like your liverock has much, if any, life on it so it might take a while. I'd recommend getting a test kit and checking your water parameters...thats the only way youll know when the tank is cycled. The lfs can do that for you too, but its still a good idea to own a test kit. I replied to your other post about why your lfs told you that your water was just fine. Some ofthe saltwater gurus here will have better ideas as to how long it might take for your tank to cycle, but my guess is a few weeks unless your liverock has plenty of life on it. You should try the raw shrimp trick...it works.

Ok, will do....i'm so glad i joined this forum. Thanks for your help!

Also, I'm getting an apartment in September, and I want to put a bigger tank in. What size would you reccomend, as far as being able to hold a good number of fish?