Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-19-2014, 02:07 PM   #41
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
Sounds good.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 07:11 PM   #42
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
So I just checked my water because I was curious and wanted to know what it was before I left for the day. When I dosed the ammonia this morning it was around 1. Here is what I got for results tonight.

Click image for larger version

Name:	1395266364317.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	119.0 KB
ID:	229060

I actually tested the ammonia twice because I thought I had messed something up but same result. Does this mean my tank is cycled? Is it possible that I didn't kill off the bb when I cleaned everything and that's why I'm getting basically no readings? When I cleaned, I didn't do anything to the filter or filter media so that should ask still be established. Thoughts? It seems WAY too soon to be fully cycled to me.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 07:17 PM   #43
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Well, as other users said, wait 24 hours to test and see. A tank won't cycle in a matter of hours, or a day.

Maybe you didn't add enough ammonia for it to be detectable?
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 07:26 PM   #44
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
So I just checked my water because I was curious and wanted to know what it was before I left for the day. When I dosed the ammonia this morning it was around 1. Here is what I got for results tonight.

Attachment 229060

I actually tested the ammonia twice because I thought I had messed something up but same result. Does this mean my tank is cycled? Is it possible that I didn't kill off the bb when I cleaned everything and that's why I'm getting basically no readings? When I cleaned, I didn't do anything to the filter or filter media so that should ask still be established. Thoughts? It seems WAY too soon to be fully cycled to me.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

What did you do with the rock when you were cleaning? Most of your bb will be on them. You can always dose it back up to verify, maybe go to 2 ppm this time
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 07:26 PM   #45
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
No I tested it right after I added the ammonia and the tube was clearly green. I kept adding ammonia until it was clearly green so I wouldn't have to guess if it cycled out.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 07:27 PM   #46
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
Sorry that was this morning that I tested right after adding to get a green result and then I waited all day and tested again now it's back to yellow.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 07:32 PM   #47
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
What did you do with the rock when you were cleaning? Most of your bb will be on them. You can always dose it back up to verify, maybe go to 2 ppm this time
I filled a big bucket with water from the tank and then I scoopedd them out of the tank with an ice cream bucket and dumped them into the big bucket. Once I cleaned the tank and got the salt right I just put them back in. They spent almost no time out of the water and I didn't scrub them or even rinse them. I didn't want to lose the algae.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:00 PM   #48
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Well, if they weren't exposed to air that long, they may not have lost enough BB to matter.
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 10:13 PM   #49
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
I'll just re dose it tomorrow and see if it still dips

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 11:27 PM   #50
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
Now that the tank may be cycled/is cycling I'm hoping for some advice on stocking here is what I'm thinking.

Fish:
Four stripe damsel
Yellow tail damsel x2
Strawberry pseudochromis
Watchmen Goby

Inverts:
1 coral banded shrimp or 2 peppermint shrimp
1 brittle sea star
Bumblebee snails
Scarlet hermit crabs

Corals:
Zoas
Mushrooms
Something fluttery?

Thoughts?



Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
red, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tank redo jbird79 Cichlid Discussion 20 02-17-2012 02:37 PM
Redo of 29g tank into puffer tank new2betas Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 2 03-18-2009 08:54 AM
Had to redo the discus tank Zagz Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 14 08-27-2008 03:58 PM
Tank teardown...and redo TeenReefer Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 08-23-2006 07:44 PM
Question redo my tank bckane Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-05-2004 06:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.