Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-14-2011, 06:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Angelfish56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 502
I want to connect my two saltwater tanks so the fish can swim in between them with out cutting the glass how would I do it or is it even possible like a aqua bridge
__________________

__________________
Angelfish56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 06:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Buffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Weston, WI
Posts: 1,632
Interesting idea. Following this one
__________________

__________________
75 Gallon Saltwater Reef;

Buffy's Reef Queendom has inhabitants of 2 Spotted Cardinal, Randall's Goby, Green Mandarin, Blue Chromis, CUC & Corals
Buffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 06:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Davidlarrimore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Alexandria Virginia
Posts: 32
It would be very simple with a Acrylic tank because the material can be cut easily.

With the right tools glass can be cut, and even a hole made.

Because of gravity, your only options are really to have a passage below or between, not above.

If you had the time and were successful, I'm sure you would open up a whole new DIY avenue for fellow Aquarists
__________________
20 Gallon Freshwater Tropical: 1 Penguin Tetra, 2 Rainbow's, 3 Pearl Danio's, 5 Black Molly's.
Davidlarrimore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 07:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Davidlarrimore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Alexandria Virginia
Posts: 32
I actually want to recall my statement of below or in-between. If you created a syphon you could do it without making a single cut.

A little testing would be required, but it would work. Check out the Wikipedia link for the physics behind it.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siphon
__________________
20 Gallon Freshwater Tropical: 1 Penguin Tetra, 2 Rainbow's, 3 Pearl Danio's, 5 Black Molly's.
Davidlarrimore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 07:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
Found this site. http://www.mentalfloss.com/blogs/archives/7318
If you make a tube with both ends under water and pumped the air out it would work.
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 07:10 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
LordErrorprone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 230
The fish couldn't go back and forth between tanks if you used a siphon.
__________________
"Never trust a computer you cant throw out a window"
LordErrorprone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 07:12 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezy33
Found this site. http://www.mentalfloss.com/blogs/archives/7318
If you make a tube with both ends under water and pumped the air out it would work.
Note both tanks need to be on the same level.
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 07:26 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
LordErrorprone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 230
It would be fine if the tube was near the bottom so the water level never reached it plus you would want significant water flow between the two tanks too keep the parameters the same.
__________________
"Never trust a computer you cant throw out a window"
LordErrorprone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 07:31 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
LordErrorprone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 230
You could also set up two tubes and configure the water flow to cycle the water between the two tanks.
__________________
"Never trust a computer you cant throw out a window"
LordErrorprone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 08:34 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Angelfish56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 502
I went on YouTube and the tank was side by side connected by a u tube but looks like a n on the tank
__________________

__________________
Angelfish56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting a 20 gallon fowlr tank PLEASE HELP volcomkrew4life Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-08-2011 11:19 PM
Log for cycling my new tank. zparticle Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 146 07-13-2011 04:34 PM
Compatibility - Community tank & dwarf Cichlids Sturgcl1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-06-2011 06:19 AM
upgrading tank? mollymama Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 06-26-2011 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.