Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-20-2009, 09:22 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by HN1 View Post
coraline is a good thing. I wouldn't seek out anything to eat it.
What does actively eat the coraline algae?
__________________

__________________
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 09:27 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Delware
Posts: 38
k so then im just waitng. oh the agony. j/k
thx for the info u guys really help alot.
saves alot of screw ups.
__________________

__________________
ojmenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 09:50 PM   #13
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
What does actively eat the coraline algae?
I believe there are snails that do consume it. Black nerites I think, but it's been awhile since I read a lot about coralline so I'd have to defer or do a lot more research than I can commit to right now. lol
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 10:01 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I know for a fact my pincusion and pencil urchins eat it. If you have a mature tank and good water parameters, it grows back pretty quick.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 10:07 PM   #15
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64 View Post
I know for a fact my pincusion and pencil urchins eat it. If you have a mature tank and good water parameters, it grows back pretty quick.
Aha! The pencil urchin was on the tip of my ever older brain. lol
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 02:24 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
Just wait....and don't freak like I did when your whole tank turns brown with diatom algae. that is your next "phase" I wouldn't add a CUC till after that.
__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 07:06 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Delware
Posts: 38
todays numbers
SG 1.025
PH 7.8
Ammonia 0
Nitrites 1.0
Nitrates 5


i know i just need to wait for nitrites to get to 0. just wondering if it is bad that now my nitrates are going down and nitrites are still at 1. should i take a sample to LFS and let them test it? or is it normal to have nitrates go down like this. i thought from articles i have read that the nitrates would stay up till i did a large PWC.
__________________
ojmenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 07:50 PM   #18
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
What type of test kit are you using? Nitrate should increase vs. reduce unless you have a macro or DSB in there that allows it to be consumed.
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 07:57 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Delware
Posts: 38
API test kit

I know they should go up that is why i am asking they went up and are now coming back down and nitrites still havent went to zero they are at 1. I have a few aptasia in there and some purple coraline algae. other thatn that if something else is in there i dont see it.
__________________
ojmenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 08:30 PM   #20
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Are you sure that you went through the proper Nitrate testing regimen? Test kit old? Sorry... other than those possibilities I'm at a loss.
__________________

__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting a second tank. Speed up cycle w/ first tank water? turbovr6 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 11-28-2007 12:11 PM
New Tank Instantly at CYCLE level equal to other tank SKEET Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-09-2006 10:12 PM
Cycle-- How do YOU Cycle your tank? DragonFish Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 01-02-2006 12:02 AM
New tank: jump start cycle with bio wheel in existing tank? twestrope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 11-02-2005 04:54 PM
To cycle or not to cycle.... (2-gallon tank) fearlessfisch Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-17-2004 01:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.