Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-21-2009, 08:41 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Delware
Posts: 38
what do you mean by regimen. I followed the instructions. and the kit is brand new unless it sat on the shelf for to long. but it does not look old.
thanks for trying to help. I dont know what to do if i should just start over or just wait or throw another shrimp in or what. The shrimp i put in last week is not completely gone yet but almost. and it was an XL jumbo shrimp. I sent my wife to the seafood place to get a 1 large shrimp and they kinda laughed at her. then gave her the biggest one they had and didnt charge her for it lol.
__________________

__________________
ojmenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 09:09 PM   #22
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
You are probably not off, maybe the lighting is a little different where you last tested the nitrAtes. You can always add a pinch of food and check for ammonia, or, you can have you LFS test your water sample just for a double check. I know I sometimes get a little clumsy when I test my water and maybe one or two drops are larger/smaller than the the last test.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 09:13 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Delware
Posts: 38
I am going to take water to LFS tomorrow. as for ammonia there is still the shrimp in the water so it should still be creating ammonia. but i have none so i assume those bacteria are working.
__________________
ojmenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 09:14 PM   #24
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by ojmenard View Post
what do you mean by regimen. I followed the instructions. and the kit is brand new unless it sat on the shelf for to long. but it does not look old.
thanks for trying to help. I dont know what to do if i should just start over or just wait or throw another shrimp in or what. The shrimp i put in last week is not completely gone yet but almost. and it was an XL jumbo shrimp. I sent my wife to the seafood place to get a 1 large shrimp and they kinda laughed at her. then gave her the biggest one they had and didnt charge her for it lol.
LOL. I can relate, I got the weirdest look ever when I asked for just one shrimp!

I agree with Roka. Possibly lighting and a second opinion is always good. My wife and I definitely see colors differently.
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 09:20 PM   #25
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
And forget reading the pH test kit on the APIs! LOL!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 09:26 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Delware
Posts: 38
why do u say forget the ph on API test kit?
__________________
ojmenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 09:29 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Delware
Posts: 38
well just retested the nitrite and had my wife and my 9 yr old son who helps me with all of this stuff look at it also. they both see the same color so I guess im gonna see what the LFS says. but still the question is if it is staying at 1 and my nitrates are coming down what do i do ro what does that mean?
__________________
ojmenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 09:41 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 167
For what it's worth - as I've been testing my water with API test kits I have been taking water samples to my local LFS regularly as well. One thing I have noticed is that the kits we use at home only have a half dozen or so color references whereas the LFS has an API wall chart with dozens of color references for each test.

So when my test was showing 0ppm on Ammonia their chart actually showed .25ppm. I guess the LFS probably get those charts sent to them for selling the API kits.

I mention this as I think your idea of having your LFS double check your readings is wise.
__________________
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 10:43 PM   #29
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I was saying the pH test is hard for me to read, I can't tell the differences between the purples....
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 10:51 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Delware
Posts: 38
lol i am that way with the nitrites but 3 of us are sure its 1.
__________________

__________________
ojmenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting a second tank. Speed up cycle w/ first tank water? turbovr6 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 11-28-2007 12:11 PM
New Tank Instantly at CYCLE level equal to other tank SKEET Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-09-2006 10:12 PM
Cycle-- How do YOU Cycle your tank? DragonFish Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 01-02-2006 12:02 AM
New tank: jump start cycle with bio wheel in existing tank? twestrope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 11-02-2005 04:54 PM
To cycle or not to cycle.... (2-gallon tank) fearlessfisch Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-17-2004 01:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.