Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-22-2006, 04:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
Tank Cycled.. How to get rid of Nitrate's?

Hey all,

My 55g tank finally cycled, I put 50lbs of LR in the tank, but the LR was delayed in shipping and had huge die off, I then put another 15lbs of much better condition LR, which then the tank cycles within about a week..

I have 0 Ammonia, but my Nitrates are at 160ppm which is the highest the liquid test kit goes..

This is after changing out about 20 gallons of water.

I would have thought changing 20 gallons of water would have brought the nitrates down alot more...

Is there anything else I can do?

Thanks,

-TheChad
__________________

__________________
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 04:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
water changes. if the tank is 55gallons, you need to replace 27.5gallons of water with nitrate free water, and that would lower nitrates from 160ppm to 80ppm, which is still extremely high for a SW tank.

having a well light refugium with macro algae can help control nitrates, since the algae will use it as a nutrient source.

protein skimmers also help, by removing DOC's before they have time to break down into nitrate.
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 04:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
So I might as well just change out all 55g of water with fresh saltwater?

-TheChad
__________________
90 Gallon Drilled Glass Tank w/ Corner Overflow: 492w (2x 150w 14,000K MH, 2x 96w Actinic CF) Coralife Aqualight Pro | Custom 34x15x15 Sump/Refugium | SWC Skimmer | Coralife Turbo-Twist 6x UV Sterilizer | Maxi-Jet Power Head w/Sure Flow Upgrade Kit | 120lbs of Live Rock | 100lbs of Live Sand
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 05:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Quote:
So I might as well just change out all 55g of water with fresh saltwater?
Not at one time. As your tank matures it will remove some nitrates on its own. My tank keeps nitrates at 0 on it's own but as mentioned above I also have a refugium.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 05:31 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
Well, I just replaced 20g yesterday..

I don't not have, and will not have a refugium. I do not currently have a Protein Skimmer, but will be purchasing a Coralife Skimmer in the next week.

Right now I have an Eheim Professional II Canister filter that flows 251gph.

There is alot of the die off from the rock that is on top of the sand bed. I have tried using a turkey baster, and syphon but was unable to remove it successfully with those. I figured the crabs would slowly get rid of it...

-TheChad
__________________
90 Gallon Drilled Glass Tank w/ Corner Overflow: 492w (2x 150w 14,000K MH, 2x 96w Actinic CF) Coralife Aqualight Pro | Custom 34x15x15 Sump/Refugium | SWC Skimmer | Coralife Turbo-Twist 6x UV Sterilizer | Maxi-Jet Power Head w/Sure Flow Upgrade Kit | 120lbs of Live Rock | 100lbs of Live Sand
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 06:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 131
IMHO, I'd do another 15-20 gallons today. Like Brenden said, it's not good to do it all at once, but it's been 24 hrs, and two-20 gallon changes over a 24hr period is better than a 40-gal all at once. It lessons the shock to the system.

As far as the dead stuff on the LR, most people I believe scrape that off before introducing it to the tank. If there's more dead stuff on the LR, I'd remove the LR & scrape it off instead of waiting for it to fall off.

Just my opinion.
__________________
GinaD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 07:54 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 148
You could also try Purigen by Seachem or Amquel+ by Kordon. Neither would do harm to your cycle either.
__________________
Lagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 08:19 AM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I`m not much of a chemical person here. I think your best bet will be PWC and the skimmer will definitely help.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 11:21 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58
I`m not much of a chemical person here. I think your best bet will be PWC and the skimmer will definitely help.
Typically I'm not a chemicallly inclined person either, but his trates are through the roof. Both products I mentioned are really harmless. Purigen is just an obsorbsion mechanism and Amquel is a water conditioner. I think his best bet is PWC, like you said, but treated with Amquel first. Best of both worlds.
__________________
Lagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 12:26 PM   #10
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If the Nitrates are that high after a cycle, my inclination would be water supply issues... PWC and diligence is the only way the Nitrates are going to come down. this is really dependent upon what the water quality is used for new mix. If Nitrates are present in it, then it will stay bad no matter what, until an RO/DI unit is utilized..

Also, look into using a different test kit... Unless you are feeding extreme amounts of food, your trates should never reach that point... EditedDie off would cause an ammonia spike more than Nitrates right away).Try a Salifert or Seachem test kit. I think you will find a different result.

Best of luck,
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycled, led, nitrate, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my tank already cycled...? CEverii Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 02-15-2010 03:00 PM
Could my tank be CYCLED?? boggerscott Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 02-09-2010 01:24 AM
Tank Cycled...Pictures tank & new occupants. @rtemis Show Off/Photography 2 03-15-2008 09:23 PM
Nitrate's Thumper Saltwater Reef Aquaria 19 01-15-2005 07:00 PM
is my tank cycled? bunebop Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 06-20-2004 10:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.