Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-15-2011, 02:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 67
Tank cycling

Ok, reading some threads and getting a little worried. My 60 gallon tank was set up a week ago with 60 pounds of live rock(cured) 60 pounds of live sand. I have an excellent skimmer and filter. My numbers are perfect. No ammonia no nitrite and a reading of 5 on my nitrate test. The thing is I've never had any type of read for ammonia. I have 4 Chromis to start and still no ammonia. So I added a clownfish. Again great numbers. Is this possible or am I in for a big surprise?
__________________

__________________
louie4979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 05:27 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
if the live rock was cured its possible your already cycled where did you get the lr from?
__________________

__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 05:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
sounds like you are cycled. Add a pinch or two of fish food and test it again tomorrow. If ammonia is still at 0 you are cycled.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 05:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,102
I may not be as experinced as thin but it took two weeks with a similar set up with using live fish before i got an ammonia reading... i think the biggest issue was the already cured lr .. i eventually got an ammonia reading but almost two weeks after adding the fish. Then it took a week for ammonia and nitrates to hit 0. I quess what im trying to say how can. you cycle anything when what your putting in has already been cycled.
__________________
jsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 11:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 67
I got the lr at a place called global Aquatics in Ontario California. But you should have some nitrate right? That means your tank is cycling ammonia to nitrite to nitrate?
__________________
louie4979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 11:21 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
yup thats the exact process
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 05:32 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
If all you had is cured LR then it used up all the ammonia and you did not add any other ammonia source, then the cycle stalled. When you added the fish the cycle started again. When ever You use LR and you test 0 aammonia and You don't add anything organic the cycle will stall. You don't have to add a fish you could just add a little fish food.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 05:48 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 67
Yeah but if I have nitrate that means there must have been some ammonia to cycle. When I started I had some nitrite and a mid level reading for nitrate. Now no nitrite and low level nitrates so something must be going on right?
__________________
louie4979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 05:51 PM   #9
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
One week might not be enough to start the cycle yet. It took me a week to get my first ammonia readings. I would suggest that you not use live fish to cycle your tank. We have an excellent article on fishless cycling in our article section.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 12:14 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 67
Wasn't trying to kill the fish. I figured with the live rock and live sand I should be good. The bacteria is in the sand and rock already so I figured it was already cycling in the store before I bought it. I don't understand how you can have nitrate readings without some kind of process going on. I thought that cycling was for tanks that cured live rock in the tank. I've been feeding the fish for almost two weeks and they've been crapping. No ammonia. Just a little worried.
__________________

__________________
louie4979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, tan, tank cycling

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cycling of new tank the grim reefer Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 12-22-2006 07:04 PM
Cycling tank MitcherNeaf Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 08-13-2006 03:16 PM
cycling a new tank with established tank methods? Mazdaman Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 02-17-2005 06:32 PM
Tank cycling again? jody63 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 08-11-2004 01:21 AM
New Tank Cycling andyhill99 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 10-21-2003 02:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.