Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-23-2005, 09:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 64
Tank filled---waitng to clear and have questions

Just filled up my first sw tank (23 gallons). I found someone locally who had pallets of the good sand(yard right) so I decided to use a full 40lbs. At first it looked to be a 4inch sb but has now turned to a more compact 3 inches. I dont have a filter on there yet and its murky as hell. How long should I wait to create water movement? Can I put a shrimp in right away or should I wait a day or so to let stuff settle?

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/photop...php?photo=8148

-Jason
__________________

__________________
TXclownin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 10:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dubuque, Iowa
Posts: 354
Whether you have a filter or not your water will be murky for the first couple weeks or so anytime you stir the sand up. I would turn on ph's and put the shrimp in now - no reason to delay your cycle any longer than you have to.
__________________

__________________
havefun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 10:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 64
Only problem is....I dont have any powerheads yet. I just put an order into bigals so I wont have the 2 I ordered for a week or so(If im lucky). I do have a penguin 330 or a penguin 125 I could throw on there. Is flow neccesary when putting the shrimp in?
__________________
TXclownin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 10:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dubuque, Iowa
Posts: 354
I'm rather new myself but I'm pretty sure you want flow with the shrimp. It will help spread the bacteria and keep your water from getting stale.
Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
__________________
havefun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 10:56 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Athens, TN.
Posts: 3,598
Throw the shrimp in, start the penguin 330 without a filter in place. That should be plenty for water movement for cycling. You could even use some filter media minus the carbon to filter out some of the lighter silt.
__________________
Gerald

Vote for AquariumAdvice
dralarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2005, 02:37 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Barboursville WV
Posts: 317
Send a message via AIM to AR15 guy
I run a biowheel 330 and a biowheel emporer 280 on my 38. That is my filtration. They work fine. I'd throw them on for now. Just to get get things started anyways. I would use the filters with media unless you plan on a ton of rock. In that case all you need is a powerhead.

I have media in place with the biowheels and have 0 nitrates.
__________________
38 gal SW, CC, 40lbs base rock, 5lbs live, emporer 280, bio-wheel 330,tronic heater, 2 O. clowns, 1 firefish.

29 gal FW, boring...soon to be salt I think.

10 gal SW, 20lbs LS, 20lbs base rock, 1 unhappy domino damsel (he was in the 38...switched the percs and the damesel recently).
AR15 guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2005, 01:28 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 64
It looks abit clearer this morning. I think Ill add the shrimp and the 330 as suggested.

-Jason
__________________

__________________
TXclownin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clear, led, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have I over filled my tank ecobr Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 14 01-11-2010 10:24 PM
I finally filled the tank!!!! foamythesquirrel Member Introductions 10 01-10-2010 07:16 PM
tank is not clear and filled with debris kagentx Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 04-28-2005 04:18 AM
Finally filled my tank! Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 04-17-2005 05:16 AM
Just filled our new tank... djmpj2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 12-29-2004 12:00 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.