Tank idea

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hobgob

Aquarium Advice Addict
So I have this hex lying around and I though I could turn it into a nice saltwater tank. It is 19inch tall each panel is 8inch wide and is 14inch panel to panel. I worked it out to roughly 18 gallons but I did it in my head so ya... I was thinking of trying to stack life rock or something of the sort in the center of it.

I was just wondering if anyone had any ideas on filtration and etc. I have never done a saltwater tank before so I want to make sure I do it right. I know the tank is small and if it doesn't have a lot of options I'm ok with not doing it. It's either I keep my krib tank or set this saltwater tank up.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated thank you everyone

Not an easy ank to start with but would be great if you pulled it off.

Go for a decent external filter but as you mention Live Rock will be your main showcase!

You could do away with the filter and add a good amount of cured live rock and have a hang on skimmer.

Live sand is good too!

What do you plan on doing? Reef? Fish only?

Not sure what would my option be? I was thinking of a school of cardinals and maybe a dwarf lion if he fits. I'm looking at more fish. I might not go with the lion. Maybe a cleaner wrasse. I will write some ideas down and list them. If I do a reef can I stick my coral on the live rock? Also what type of lights would I need? If I go fish only do some fish need corals or can I just go with fake ones? It would probably be easier to just avoid them although I do love frogspawns...