Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-08-2006, 03:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: va
Posts: 164
Tank is setup and running!!!

Ok i got my 55gal setup and running.The sg is 1.024,ph8.0,no3 looks to be 2.5ppm,no2 0-.05,alk 1.7-2.8,nh3 1.0.I have 70lbs of live rock and 40lbs of live sand.The test kit im using is red sea master kit.Its been up for 2 days now,Just want your opinion if everything is going good.And will a 33gal long be good for my sump.I have the tank just waiting for the overflow and pumps to come.The sump is 48x12x12.And i am doing the fish less cycle.Thanks Derrick
__________________

__________________
sonoma2nv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 03:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Everything looks good so far. A 33 would make a awesome sump for a 55 gal. After your cycle is complete get your NO3 to safe levels and ph up and stable.
__________________

__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 03:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: va
Posts: 164
Thanks for the reply.Should i have my protine skimmer running when cycling ?Thanks Derrick
__________________
sonoma2nv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 04:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
I ran mine during cycle.. It would help break it in/get the slime coating on it. If you do run it just let the collection cup run back into the sump.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 10:52 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Hey Derrick everything looks good. Thanks for doing the fishless cycle. I`m glad there are some that care.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 06:43 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: va
Posts: 164
ok day 4 of testing ph 8.0,no2 1ppm,no3 0ppm,nh3 .05ppm, ALK 1.7. I have been testing everyother day and started on the 1/08/06.When should i see No3 start to go up.The post on the 8th say no3 at 2.5ppm was wrong it was 0.I didnt ready that you had to read a chart to convert n02/no3 to get the right reading.Thanks Derrick
__________________
sonoma2nv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 07:19 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Your nh3/no2 are still pretty low for cycling, once you see your no2 spike to around 20+ppm you should see some no3. If you don't see it soon then you may not have enough "fuel" to start a good cycle. Plus with the lr & ls you could have a shorter cycle.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 01:57 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 280
Your ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels will grow slowly over a 3 - 4 week process, maybe longer. Have patience. Your levels will spike in this order: Ammonia then Nitrite then Nitrate. 4 days is nowhere near enough time to even see a spike in the ammonia levels. What are you using to start the cycle? Anything other than the ls and lr? 70 lbs of live rock is a nice amount but has a heafty price tag, especially when just seeding a tank. Are you sure all of it is lr and you did not get any base rock with it? The 40lbs of ls is also a nice amount to seed the sandbed. However 40 lbs of sand total is a little light for a 55. Did you add more sand to it?
__________________

__________________
Good Luck,
Brian
Macrosill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The tank is up and running AH-99p Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 01-30-2006 04:33 PM
Tank up and running.....now what? Overstocker Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 02-03-2004 10:55 PM
Getting everything i need to have a successful running tank iconbenz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 01-25-2004 01:49 PM
New tank is up and running! MR294 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 08-30-2003 01:52 PM
Just got my new tank up and running!! rthoman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 07-10-2003 09:06 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.