Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-08-2003, 11:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Send a message via AIM to ericosuave
Tank Problems

Hello, I am new at owning a aquarium and i have a few questions because i dont think im doing things right..

Ok.. i have a 40 gal oceanic stretch hex (i have pics let me know if u wanna see) and i have been puting it through the cycling process for about 1 week now.
I used some sand and water from my brothers tank and sand from a friends tank which have both been up for about 4 months.
I started to get a little bit of red algae on the sand, so i used some chemi-clean to demolish it.. Ever since ive used the chemi-clean my prizm skimmer has had ALOT of foam in it, and has been shooting these micro-bubbles back into my tank and its ugly and there is alot of crap floating ontop of the water (looks like small bubbles and such, some big ones too).

Can someone please help me out, and let me know what i am doing wrong.? Thank you very much!

Did i mention that my tank looked perfect and clear before i used the stupid chemi-clean.

Old 12-09-2003, 12:02 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

to AquariumAdvice.com!!!

Quote:
I started to get a little bit of red algae on the sand, so i used some chemi-clean to demolish it.. Ever since ive used the chemi-clean my prizm skimmer has had ALOT of foam in it, and has been shooting these micro-bubbles back into my tank and its ugly and there is alot of crap floating ontop of the water (looks like small bubbles and such, some big ones too).