Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-06-2003, 11:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Edgewater, FL
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to YouEnvyMySin Send a message via MSN to YouEnvyMySin
tank switch

I just got a bigger tank that I want to use for my saltwater, any advice on how to do a tank change without killing everything in the tank?...or should I just replace my freshwater one with the bigger one and save myself the hassle?...thanks
__________________

__________________
YouEnvyMySin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 10:16 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Is the new tank going to go in the same spot as teh old tank? If so that kind of makes things a little more complex but can still be done with out to much problem.

What size is the old tank and what size is the new? I will use this as a frame of reference in suggesting a procedure.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 06:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Edgewater, FL
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to YouEnvyMySin Send a message via MSN to YouEnvyMySin
not exactly positive on the placement of the new tank...because the old tank is a 30gallon high and the new one is a 35gallon long, so I dunno if it'll work where I have the tank now...
__________________
YouEnvyMySin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2003, 03:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 507
Send a message via ICQ to Gauge Send a message via Yahoo to Gauge
I am also curious about how one would go about this. Assume that placement is not an issue and the new tank is about twice the size of the old tank. Hopefully I'll be doing this soon.
__________________
- Gauge

92-gallon corner tank, 100lbs of LR, 140lbs of sand, 250watt 10,000K MH, 110watts of actinic PCs, Mag 7 return, custom refugium, AquaC EV180 w/ Mag 5

Female lyretail anthias, eyelash blenny, tomato clown, saddleback clown, firefish goby, 2 sand-sifting stars
Gauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2003, 01:58 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Edgewater, FL
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to YouEnvyMySin Send a message via MSN to YouEnvyMySin
...nobody?...hmmm =o(
__________________
YouEnvyMySin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2003, 10:41 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Sorry, Your post got lost in the fray and i have been busy at work and forgot all about this post.

If the tank is going to be in a different spot then set the new tank up in its position and make sure its level and ready for water. Since the tank is not much larger than the inital tank you wont need to mix up much new water but you should mix up the new water first and put it in a storage container like a rubbermaide trashcan.

If your going to use everything the exact same including your substrate then you will need a temporary place to put your live rocks while you scoop out the substrate and transfer it to the new tank. If you have ever thought about changing to a different type of substrate now is the time to do it.

I like to use rubermaid trashcans or the rubermaid storage bins for storage of rocks and water when doing such a move like this.

Transfer the substrate, live rock and equipment to the new tank. Then transfer the water and fish from the old setup to the new setup. Fill the tank with the new water that you have prepaird.

If you where putting the tank in the exact same spot it would be more work as you wouldhave to tear down completly the old tank and remove it before you could put the new tank in its place and level it.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2003, 10:47 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
Quote:
...nobody?...
things sometimes slip down the list before they get answered. Bumping it back to the top like this helps refresh it )


switching tanks can be tricky. Everything in the tank can be moved without too much trouble with the exception of the substrate. You are going from one tank to another which certainly will make this a little bit easier. Start off by getting yourself a few rubbermaid tubs. Enough to hold all the water and rock from your tank. depending on whats in the tank you may want one for rocks one for corals/anenmoes etc. some corals/anenomes will attack each other if placed too close, keep that in mind.

you should have a QT tank so get that set up with water from the tank. Net your fish and place them in there.

fill your rubbermaid tubs with water from the tank and pull out your corals/anenmoes. Then pull out your LR into a seperate container (you dont want to crush your critters with the LR)

now is where it gets tricky and I hope others make some suggestions on this step as well.

try and drain as much of the water from the tank into the tubs as possible. Start scooping out the substrate from your old tank and move it to your new tank. Place your LR in the tank. use either a plate or bowl and set it on top of the substrate in the new tank once it is all in the new tank. Start returning your water to the tank by pouring it slowly onto the plate. then return your corals/anenomes and lastly your fish. Consider leaving 5 gallons or so of water in the tubs and replacing it with fresh salt water (as a water change)


my only concern is how much damage this would do to your DSB. Anyone have any thoughts on that?
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2003, 10:56 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Quote:
my only concern is how much damage this would do to your DSB
IMO there is not much you can do to prevent the lower oxygen reduced areas from getting oxygenated to some extent when you move the sand bed.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2003, 10:59 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: wis
Posts: 1,433
Send a message via MSN to alrmc4
pretty much the only things i did different than the above is i soaked pantyhose with sand in them in the old system and did about a 25-30 percent water change 2 days before saving that water and using it also i was afraid of starting a new cycle because i changed out all my old substrate and was going larger i also put old filters and sponges in the sump to help with that also...hth
__________________
-------------------------------
lor
like pictures? visit
http://www.shutterbugs-gallery.com/forum/portal.php
alrmc4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2003, 12:01 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishfreek
Quote:
my only concern is how much damage this would do to your DSB
IMO there is not much you can do to prevent the lower oxygen reduced areas from getting oxygenated to some extent when you move the sand bed.
so then he can probably expect a slight spike in nitrates shortly after the move
__________________

__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Tank - Should I switch fish over? ltick Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 12-06-2008 12:48 AM
Making the switch to a reef tank...need some advice mdjxt39 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 08-21-2006 09:50 PM
best way to switch to new tank? willowthepoet Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 03-02-2006 11:17 PM
switch it to satwater? Mazdaman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 02-02-2005 06:39 PM
Switch to SW from Fresh Hara Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-29-2002 07:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.