Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-09-2013, 06:52 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
He is not doing reef in his tank jut fish. Should I use pure AMMONIA or a fresh dead shrimp to cycle it? When I said copper in the water I was taking about the tap. This is the tank. He got it with a sump off Craig's list for a cheap barter.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-857605316.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	161.1 KB
ID:	185201



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2763815352.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	91.5 KB
ID:	185202

Then I reconfigured the sump for a fuge.


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-523891177.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	120.9 KB
ID:	185203
__________________

__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 06:57 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishmonkey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,207
A shrimp will work. You can have the live rock in the fuge, but you willl need to put a light over it. Get one of those compact florescent bulbs (the curly ones) and put it in a shoplight pendant sort of thing and you can hang it over the fuge portion to let algae and critters grow. Just put the sand in the display tank, and some rock, if you want to.
__________________

__________________
fishmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 06:58 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
If you use the dead shrimp, make sure to run carbon in the tank or sump, otherwise it will stink and discolor the water. Pure ammonia won't have that side effect, and allows you to control the cycle a little easier, but you need to stay on top of the dosing.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 07:10 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishmonkey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,207
Oh, and if you do the shrimp method, put it in a pair of pantyhose. As it breaks down, you won't have a bunch of dead shrimp flakes floating around your tank, and after the cycle, you can just pull the whole thing out and throw it away.
__________________
fishmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 07:11 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
yeah, that too..i forgot about that little tidbit
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 07:53 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishmonkey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,207
What equipment do you have so far, besides the tank, stand, and sump?
__________________
fishmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 12:08 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
I have everything for it. Here are some pics. It's all set up.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-879815849.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	215.4 KB
ID:	185281



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1651355005.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	133.9 KB
ID:	185280



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1678267750.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	122.0 KB
ID:	185282

But this happened when all the water was in. I heard a crack!! What should he do???

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3593793605.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	96.6 KB
ID:	185283
__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 12:21 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishmonkey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,207
Oh boy. Is that the center brace on the tank?
__________________
fishmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 12:21 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
And the salinity is 1.025 on the money... And the water is almost crystal clear.
__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 12:23 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishmonkey View Post
Oh boy. Is that the center brace on the tank?
Yea. It looks like it was broken before and Someone tried to fix it. I told him I didn't feel safe with it like that be he said hey if it happens it happens. I just wanted to make sure I had all the valves adjusted to if the power ever went out it wouldn't flood. A++ on my part. What can he do to fix it. ? I know it's not good.
__________________

__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.