Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-09-2013, 10:44 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
Tap water and conditioner for start cycle???

I am setting up my buddy's 75g sw tank with a 29g sump/fuge. I was wondering if I can use rap water with conditioner for the cycle without any liverock and sand in the tank. Only in the sump? How should I go about doing this?
__________________

__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 11:13 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
Anyone? I don't want my thread to go too far down...
__________________

__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 12:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
No no no...use RO/DI water, add salt according to instructions, let it mix thoroughly (I have a circulation pump in mine for 24hrs to mix it completely), then add it to the tank. It's best to do the cycle with the rock and sand, as you will build your BB colonies at the same time as the rock is curing and the dead stuff give the BB something to eat.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 01:26 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
Is it going to be FOWLR or reef? If reef, then you should use at least RO water. If FOWLR, you can probably get away with tap and conditioner.

You need something for BB to grow on while cycling, so sand and rock would be wise. Just having a little sand in a sump will likely not be enough.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 02:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishmonkey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmolavi View Post
No no no...use RO/DI water, add salt according to instructions, let it mix thoroughly (I have a circulation pump in mine for 24hrs to mix it completely), then add it to the tank. It's best to do the cycle with the rock and sand, as you will build your BB colonies at the same time as the rock is curing and the dead stuff give the BB something to eat.
+1 to this. You should use the rock in the tank with the sand, not in the sump. You can always add rock or sand to the sump later.
__________________
fishmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 05:02 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
Only reason I wasn't going to put all the sand and rock in the display tank was that I heard that the copper and other stuff in the water will get into the rock and it will always be in there. That's something that I read the guy at the lfs that he went to told him tap is fine to cycle his tank and sold him prime for the water.
__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 05:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
RO/DI water will not have any copper in it. You should be using 0 TDS water in your tank.

Besides, once the sump is connected to the tank, it's one big water column, so any "impurities" in the rock will make their way to the DT eventually.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 06:11 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishmonkey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnypro View Post
Only reason I wasn't going to put all the sand and rock in the display tank was that I heard that the copper and other stuff in the water will get into the rock and it will always be in there. That's something that I read the guy at the lfs that he went to told him tap is fine to cycle his tank and sold him prime for the water.
You probably shouldn't use that LFS any more . The guy that sold him the Prime is clueless.
__________________
fishmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 06:14 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishmonkey View Post
You probably shouldn't use that LFS any more . The guy that sold him the Prime is clueless.
Unless he thought it was a FW tank, in which case, it's more than sufficient. No way for SW though.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 06:43 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
If it is going to be a reef tank, you want RODI or at least RO. Reefs demand the good stuff. For FOWLR, tap and Prime is okay. I'm guessing that with the lack of rock, you are not doing reef?
__________________

__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.