Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-09-2010, 12:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 71
Tap Water for First Tank Fillup

I am upgrading my 20 gallon tank to a 80 gallon tank plus a 20 gallon sump. I am looking into getting an RO/DI water filter, but have read that you lose up to 4 gallons of water for every 1 gallon of RO/DI water. So when I first fillup my tank if I use an RO/DI I would get 100 gallons of filtered water but lose 400 gallons of water down the drain. Im nervous as to how big of a water bill that would be at the end of the month. So is it possible to start with the tap water for the first 100 gallons? Then PWC would be RO/Di.
__________________

__________________
njphin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 12:47 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Just for the heck of it, get a phosphate test kit and test the tap. Will you be cycling again? If so, I would use the tap water since the water will go thru heck anyway and you'd do a large water change afterwards.

Are you ultimately going reef?
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 01:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
I agree with both out you. It stinks that so much waste is made. And a 4 to 1 ratio is pretty good. Some do as much as 6 to 1. Water where I live is pricey, from the city. We get charged by use and it goes up for every 1000 gallons used. So it can cost as much as 8 bucks a gallon!!! So I am looking for an effecient ro/di.

But like austinsdad said, it will go through heck at first. Cycling, water changes. So you should test tap to make sure your not doing more harm than good. Also there are many places that sell either ro or highly filtered water that would work. Like from Wal-mart or local grocer. And I think Austinsdad is asking if you are going reef because tap water contains heavy metals and other yucky stuff that would not be removed easily with water changes. Could effect reef.
__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 01:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 71
Thanks for the replies. My plan is to go Reef. I have a phosphate test so I will do that and report back.
__________________
njphin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 01:14 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 71
So I checked the phosphate on my tap water and the reading was 0.5. I do plan to cycle the tank with uncured live rock. I could get RO/DI premixed salt water at my lfs store for $1 a gallon plus what they charge for 5 gallon jugs(I would need quite a few of those) I think I can rent them for $1 each. Or I can buy an RO/DI filter but would have to go through upto 600 gallons of water, Not sure what that would do to my water bill though. Any other suggestions on how to get the initial 100 gallons?
__________________
njphin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 08:12 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
If it were me, I'd prolly fill with the tap water, cycle, then remove phosphates later if needed after the intital water change with good water.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 12:21 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsdad View Post
If it were me, I'd prolly fill with the tap water, cycle, then remove phosphates later if needed after the intital water change with good water.
Austinsdad is that how you started your 155 gallon tank?
__________________
njphin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 12:41 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Kinda. Started with water from the tap to an empty tank about 1/3 of the way up. Added salt and a couple of powerheads to mix. Then added flat base rock and cured rock from my 72g breakdown, rock from the 36g that was set up with my critters. Can't remember exactly the combinations I used for the enntire tank, but I do remember running a hose from my basement sink to the tank.

May have added some phosphate remover somewhere in there.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 11:49 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 71
Well I called my water company and they said that I get charged $3.65 per 1000 gallons of water used. So that makes my decision very easy getting an RO/DI and setting up the tank right, with RO/DI water. I will save so much money over going to the LFS for water. Thanks for everyones help.
__________________
njphin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 08:09 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 48
I take a 5 gallon plastic water bottle (keep a cap from a previous or current bottle), and go to my local supermarket, where they charge $1.50 to fill up a 5 gallon bottle with pure Glacier filtered water.

This way, you are using the best water without having to worry about treating it for chlorine and harmful contaminants, not to mention you save money on not having to buy certain products. I do 5 gallon water changes once a week, as I have a 52g saltwater tank.

I use a 5g orange home depot homer bucket, fill it up with water, put in a 16oz cup of marine salt which gets my salinity content to approximately 1.20/1.21, and throw a powerhead in to mix for 60 minutes. Try to let the water get to room temperature, as the heater will kick on in your tank and get you up to desired temp rather quickly, in my case 78 degrees.
__________________

__________________
rx330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
first tank, tan, tap water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My tap water is terrible. What can I use for my new tank? SoFla94 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 38 08-06-2009 01:06 PM
Would you use this tap water in your tank? birdmike Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 05-24-2008 06:07 PM
tap water to top of tank? Loki4711 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 03-22-2005 03:45 PM
introducing liverock in a tap water started tank? Mach Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 20 01-28-2004 09:29 AM
20 gal fillup Pacu Man Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 10-28-2003 03:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.